BASEBALL: Rebels clinch SEC tourney spot

Final: Ole Miss 7, Kentucky 5. I’ll peruse the details later. I’ve just been following along with scores to this point.

I’ll say this: It appears to be a mentally worn down team with pitching and hitting issues heading into postseason. That’s not exactly a head full of steam.

Perhaps this could be a win that serves as a jumping off point, but I’ve thought that about some other games this season. The streaky team that could roll off nine in a row seems like ages ago.

It’s a good thing for Ole Miss that it was able to get a win, because it looks like State used all its magic last night. Pigott went only 1 1-3, and the Dogs are down 9-2 in Polk’s last game.

— PA

9 Responses to “BASEBALL: Rebels clinch SEC tourney spot”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    A whole new season starting 21 May 2008 at Hoover for the Rebs. This past season is over don’t look back, its over. A new beginning today!!

    Thanks MS dawg for your help in taking care of the Hogs. Wishing you the best in next season.

  2. Rebel in Bham Says:

    If y’all want to get together one night or for lunch during the tourney, I live in hoover.

  3. kurt Says:

    Last night I questioned. Today I give credit where it is due. Bianco definitely pushed the Bittle button correctly today. Give him credit for sticking with his plan when it works.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    You’re welcome JB. Had a great time at DNF this weekend. Too bad there’s no postseason this year. Good luck!!

  5. djrebel Says:

    Draws I was glad I was able to be a part of the weekend at State. Polk made baseball special at Mississippi State, and he did it by working hard for the game and for the development, both baseball and non-baseball, of the players in his program.

    I thought today’s tribute was very tasteful and very Ron Polk-like. He would not have wanted any long, tearful tributes and by not having any former players speak the pre-game didn’t take an emotional turn. I don’t think Polk would have been comfortable had it gone that way.

    — PA

  6. bigdraws Says:

    That’s my opinion too PA. He always tries to change the subject when it comes to stuff like that. It was a good comic relief when the video tribute showed him chewing an umpire out. I hope you were able to interview some of the former players that were in attendance. I’ll be looking forward to reading your work in the morning.

  7. cr Says:

    When the dust settles on a new coach Ron Polk needs to have a place at MSU.

  8. djrebel Says:

    Draws, Jay Powell was really the only former player that came up for interviews, and because I watched the pre-game from the box so I could take notes on my laptop, I didn’t run into any others. David Murray tells me none of the biggest names from the MLB stars past or present made it. I don’t think there’s anything to read into their absence other than the fact that people are busy, and like you and I have already mentioned, Polk doesn’t like a lot of fuss.

    CR, I think there will always be a place for Polk at MSU. I hope the coaching search does not turn in a direction that causes him not to take advantage of that place. He has been very vocal in his support of Tommy Raffo for the job. Even when I had him on the radio last week and wasn’t thinking of the coaching search, I found him telling me something about how good it had worked at Georgia when they hired his assistant, David Perno. I don’t even remember what my question was. It could have been something like, “How’s the weather in Starkville today?” but he was determined to tell me how things had worked out at Georgia with his former assistant and then mention Raffo too.

    — PA

  9. bigdraws Says:

    I know that Clark keeps a low profile when he comes to town. But he was not in town this weekend. Polk mentioned Brantley called during the week. I was kind of surprised Buck Showalter wasn’t present. But they have other gigs and that may have played into it. Van Johnson, Bill Begley, and Shane Power were in our section. I couldn’t make out the players on the field. I had pretty much the same vantage point as you did. I’m sure John Scott was there. He doesn’t live too far away.

Leave a Reply

