FYI: Today’s agenda

Just got lunches made, and after I drop off at elementary and middle school I’ll be on the road to Birmingham. Hopefully I’ll be able to check in early and make it over to Full Moon bar-b-cue before going out to Regions Park. It’s so much easier to say “Regions Park” than “the Met.” None of the locals know “the Met,” and I always felt I had to explain it by saying Metropolitan Stadium, which is long and cumbersome.

I’m hoping I can make it out to Barnes and Noble and spend some birthday money before going to the game. A good spy novel is an SEC baseball tournament tradition with me, because a lot of the time we have two teams going, and both of us are out at the stadium virtually all day.

Before I get on the road I have to swing by the office and pick up a box of cigars that one of our local subscribers wanted me to get to Ron Polk last weekend, but we didn’t connect in time. I figure Polk or an MSU representative will be around the tournament this week.

I’ll have the in-game blog going for Ole Miss-Georgia. First pitch is 5 p.m.

— PA

21 Responses to “FYI: Today’s agenda”

  1. Rebel in Bham Says:

    PA

    Have you ever had Jim N Nicks ‘cue. I like it better than Full Moon.

    Scott

  2. bigdraws Says:

    And don’t bother with dreamland. It sucks.

  3. Rebel in Bham Says:

    Golden Rule ‘cue is also decent

  4. VA Reb Says:

    PA, have a fun trip and Go Rebs! Larry

  5. bb67 Says:

    I always like Johnny Rays bbq when I lived there.

  6. rebelnate Says:

    What time is Jeff Jolly getting to Hoover????????

  7. bigdraws Says:

    Tourney don’t start till Jeff Jolly arrives. I wonder if he’ll be tailgating.

  8. rebelnate Says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. rebelnate Says:

    Are you sure anyone will be tailgating over there this week??

  10. Jay Stokes Says:

    don’t listen to anybody above, PA. dreamland BBQ sets the standard for all other BBQ, but any of the above are good choices. i’m a mississippi native in pharmacy school in birmingham, and i never really was a ‘cue fan until coming here…..it’s all good.

    the cigars were a great idea for polk. he’s a good guy. it’s a shame they didn’t do better during his last season.

    if lance has a decent game, i like our chances today. the win on saturday was big, and i think the team feels a breath of fresh air for the first time in a while with the clean slate they have earned at the tournament. take care, and travel safely. i’ll unfortunately be working during the game tonight, but i plan to be out there tomorrow.

    Go Rebs

  11. bigdraws Says:

    Dreamland has the dryest ribs I’ve ever eaten. Their pulled pork is ok. Never tried their briscuit.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    As a matter of fact, if you deside to eat ribs at Dreamland. Just save your money, and buy some of the ones they cook at Todd’s Big Star. About the same thing.

  13. rebelnate Says:

    I must admit that the BBQ sauce is pretty good.

  14. bigdraws Says:

    It’s so good they give you bread to dip it in. In case they mess the ribs up.

  15. djrebel Says:

    Hey guys. Sorry I’m late checking in. It’s a travel day, although a short one. I’m out of town so I figure some kind of news will break.

    We come to Birmingham quite a bit with SEC stuff, so I’ve gotten to know the city pretty well over the years, and I became a fan of Full Moon some time ago. Never been to a Golden Rule, but I’ve heard many others speak highly of their work.

    Been to Dreamland, which I think is more of a tourist location than anything else. The sauce and bread thing is cool, but the ribs are average. They’re better in Tuscaloosa than in the Birmingham location.

    Never been to Johnny Rays.

    I have been to Jim and Nicks several times and enjoy it also.

    Gregg knows when he and I are over here there will be at least one trip to Full Moon. He likes it too, though sometimes he’ll go ethnic on me and want to go Thai or Japanese. He’s got a thing for sushi.

    I’m not much into seafood, and when he told me they wouldn’t put sushi on a biscuit I didn’t see the need to go to that place.

    — PA

  16. bigdraws Says:

    And the only one I’ve been too is the one in Tuscaloosa. Bham branch must be terrible.

  17. Rebel in Bham Says:

    Are we starting our own Bar-B-Que blog?

  18. djrebel Says:

    Sounds good to me.

    — PA

  19. Rebel in Bham Says:

    PA

    If you get a chance head over to the Bluff Park Diner or the Tip Top Grill in Bluff Park on Shades Crest.

    Scott

  20. djrebel Says:

    Scott, give me some directions. I’m not familiar with Shads Crest.

    Thanks.

    PA

  21. Rebel in Bham Says:

    PA,

    It’s an easy drive from Regions Park (Stadium Park Trace). Leave the park cross Hwy 150 (Publix will be on the right). Continue and veer to the right (Shades Crest rd). Tip Top will be on the left and Bluff Park diner is on the left. Great job.

Leave a Reply

