BASEBALL: Good morning from Hoover

Of course, I could have posted “good morning” when I went to bed at 3.

If you’ve followed along on this blog, you’ve likelly seen my stated position on the SEC’s start time policy for its baseball tournament game. My position: #@$!%@@!##!!!!

Looks like boss back in the home office agrees. Read this take from our sports editor John Pitts.

— PA

3 Responses to “BASEBALL: Good morning from Hoover”

  1. bigdraws Says:

    As my colleague Gregg Ellis says, we now know the answer to the question posed in the infamous political ad – when the phone rings at 3 a.m., it’s likely to be an SEC baseball coach, calling for another relief pitcher.

    LOL!!

  2. Raleighrebel Says:

    I agree PA. Being on eastern time, it is even worse for me to try and listen to the last game. I think John Pitts had some good suggestions as to help remedy the 4th game ending so late. I was listening last night via the web, and had to turn it off after the 4th inning b/c it was getting so late. However, I was very glad to logon this morning and see the great news that we had won. I hope this win serves as a lock for us to be invited to the tournament. Would be great to win the SEC tournament as well. Any thoughts on how winning the SEC tournament would increase our chances to host a regional? I would love to see that happen, however am still hoping they make it up to Raleigh to play so that I can see them in person. However, NC State is going to have to step up and win some games in the ACC tournament in order to ensure they host I would imagine. They blew a decent lead the other day against GA Tech.

  3. djrebel Says:

    Raleigh, I’m not sure winning the tournament would get the Rebels a regional. So much of hosting has to do with RPI, and the Rebels started the tournament with a 45 RPI. There are 16 host sites, and you just about have to be 20 or better to have a chance. Boyd Nation’s most recent RPI update, which includes the wins over Georgia and Kentucky, has Ole Miss at 40.

    — PA

Leave a Reply

