BASEBALL: Miami Postcard

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – It’s elimination day for the Rebels, who will face Bethune-Cookman at 11 a.m.

In six regionals under Mike Bianco, Ole Miss has gone two-and-out just once, and that was the 2004 Oxford Regional, the first time in which it served as host.

Bethune, the 4 seed, lost to Miami 7-4. It held a 2-0 lead and had the game tied at 4 in the middle innings.

After the Rebels lost yesterday I came back to the hotel here to write and later peeled off with Chase Parham of the Ole Miss Spirit (soon to be of the Oxford Eagle), and we located the Argentinian steakhouse recommended by Gregg Ellis.

I was delighted to find that in Argentina steaks are cooked over charcoal much like they here, so it was indeed a nice experience.

Upon my walking route yesterday I wound through an old Coral Gables neighborhood, a really nice area with trees and sidewalks and friendly people who were eager to tell me I was walking in the wrong direction when I asked them to point toward Highway 1.

I was able to find Highway 1 and get back to the Holiday Inn before the rain started.

Rain really hasn’t been an issue here, and I hope that continues today.

I think I totaled about five miles after combining my intended route with my unintended route.

I crossed over this canal in the neighborhood. You can see the water craft anchored on the sides, which basically are people’s back yards.

I’m going to sign off now and swim a few laps today.

If the wireless situation is different at the stadium today I will try to have more on the blog during the game.

— PA

8 Responses to “BASEBALL: Miami Postcard”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Good Morning everyone outthere!! “This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glade in it.”

    Another day and beginning for the Rebels; the light at the end of the tunnel not gone out yet. There’s still hope. GO REBELS!!!

    Wishing all a great day!! JB

  2. bigdraws Says:

    Good morning JB. I’ve got a Malone’s fish & steak house hangover but I think I’ll make it. Oughta be a good game, and I’ll have my ears on.

  3. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Good Morning Draws, you’ll make it! Never been to a Malone’s. Don’t believe that I have seen one down here. We venture over to Destin sometimes and go to Pompano Joe’s. Good seafood and cold draft beer.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    No beer at Malone’s JB. Gotta hangover from eating 8 whole catfish. I ate at Pompano Joes last September. Traveled down there to lick my wounds after the LSU game. I had the stuffed flounder if I remember correctly. Very tasty.

  5. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    On Tues at the Eglin EM Club lunch buffet is catfish day, all you can eat, I pig out. Catfish one of my favorite along with grouper and flounder.

  6. bigdraws Says:

    JB, everytime I go down to the coast I try to pick up some flounder. Lay it flat and cut it too where it opens like a book. Stuff it with boudin and shrimp and a little lemon juice. Ahhhh man!!

  7. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Draws you and my oldest son have lots in common, he and one of grandsons are avid fishermen (Me too when possible). When my dad died (Tula) I brought his old 14′ jon boat down and gave it to my son. He uses it for flounder fishing. They go fishing just about daily in the AM before work. Catch Spec’s and reds.

  8. bigdraws Says:

    Funny you should mention that. Headed out to the lake now for some bream fishing.

Leave a Reply

