BASEBALL: Bittle chats a little

Scott Bittle’s been a hard man to catch, but he did respond to an email from Bryan Hoch, who covers the Yankees for MLB.com.

Bittle has until tonight at midnight to sign. No signing has been announced. It appears Bittle will not sign and will in fact return for his senior season at Ole Miss.

Here’s Bittle’s response to Hoch:

“My stance and preference from Draft Day has been to sign with the Yankees. I am simply awaiting to find out from them if they wish to sign me,” Bittle wrote. “The only reason returning to school has even been discussed is simply if the Yankees do not make me an offer.”

For Hoch’s complete story click here.

The issue with Bittle is the Yankees’ interpretation of the health of his shoulder after the club had an MRI performed.

— PA

5 Responses to “BASEBALL: Bittle chats a little”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Whichever route Scott takes, the best to him in life and his baseball career.

    Scott, I have a feeling that the Rebels will be making the trip to Omaha next season. We wish that you will be apart of this heavy experienced and talented team.

  2. Chad Says:

    JB, I am not usually one to disagree with my elders, but I am not sure Ole Miss will see Omaha as competitors. I do not know how to compare talent from one year to the next. However, I saw a couple of baseball players before this last season, and their feelings were, “If we don’t make it this year (08), we may not make it at all.”

  3. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Chad, I am basing my prediction on the number of juniors and seniors that will be coming back along with, hopeful, a good freshmen crop coming in. Not slighting the soph group. My thoughs are a more experienced team than some of past seasons. Just need wait and see, but I feel that its time. A more competitive team. Not starting out season with a high national ranking. Work, earn the way.

    Please feel free to disagree with us old codgers, we need to be woken up from time-to-time. Maybe help us out with our dementia. Thanks for you comments. JB

  4. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Coach Bianco is a very good baseball coach and I believe a great man of character. He keeps firing at the target Omaha. This next season could be the shot that hits the bulls-eye.

  5. Chad Says:

    JB, I should have more clearly expressed my opinion. I should have added that our baseball team may have been a little too confident last year, i.e. the player’s coments I quoted. Maybe the 09 season will see more fruit produced on the field.

Leave a Reply

