FOOTBALL: Saturday scrimmage notes

Ole Miss coach Houston Nutt didn’t have much to say following Saturday’s scrimmage, the final one of August camp.

It was a closed event inside the stadium played mostly in a light rain. One of the primary goals was to make it as game-like as possible, and that included using the new video board, so players will be somewhat used to it and won’t spend all their time looking at it during Saturday’s opener against Memphis.

Nutt singled out the play of quarterback Jevan Snead and running backs Cordera Eason and Brandon Bolden on offense.

The freshman Bolden has held the second spot the whole month. I still believe freshman Enrique Davis will get his touches, but the staff has liked Bolden from the beginning as he’s exhibited versatility and toughness in the practices that have been open.

Many speculated that Eason would not hold the starting job, but he’s had a good camp.

All in all, running back is going to be a solid position.

Nutt also praised junior defensive tackle Marcus Tillman and said Ted Laurent is coming along, which is good news for the defensive line.

Look for those two, plus Lawon Scott and Justin Smith to be the four players who get the most snaps at tackle.

Jerrell Powe is coming, but he’s not there yet.

The Rebels are in game-week mode beginning today. They’ll practice each Sunday during the regular season, including today. These will be light practices mostly to work out the soreness, go over mistakes from the previous day and take a quick look at the upcoming opponent. Monday will be an off day, and Tuesday and Wednesday will be their most physical practices of the week.

— PA

9 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Saturday scrimmage notes”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Looks like the rains from Fay is hitting Mississippi. For us ole retirees we just sit by, for instance here’s one for you:

    Working people frequently ask retired people what they do to make their days interesting. Well, for example, the other day I went downtown and into a shop. I was only there for about 5 minutes, and when I came out, there was a cop writing out a parking ticket. I said to him, ‘Come on, man, how about giving a retired person a break’? He ignored me and continued writing the ticket. I called him a ‘Nazi.’ He glared at me and wrote another ticket for having worn tires. So I called him a ‘doughnut eating Gestapo.’ He finished the second ticket and put it on the windshield with the first. Then he wrote a third ticket. This went on for about 20 minutes. The more I abused him the more tickets he wrote. Personally, I didn’t care. I came downtown on the bus, and the car that he was putting the tickets on had a bumper sticker that said, ‘Obama in ’08 .’ I try to have a little fun each day now that I’m retired. It’s important to my health.

  2. Catfish Says:

    A great day today!!!

  3. farley662 Says:

    PA,
    I want to apologize to you. I’ve made some comments about you that were unfair and just mean. You are a good guy and I tend to get a little hot under the collar at times. I never should have expected someone I’d never met to ask about what was going on with my family. I’ve been let down by alot of friends and family and projected it your way. Sorry again.

    Farley

  4. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Amazing unbelievable things taking place and happening now days. Never would have believe farley could have come to see us. Maybe were are in the last days and The Rapture is near.

  5. djrebel Says:

    Farley, I haven’t seen your comments and won’t go looking for them. I just knew it seemed like it had been a while since you posted here. I have been keeping up with you and Aedan with reports from Gregg. If I haven’t seemed responsive it’s not that I don’t care about your family.

    — PA

  6. no_handle Says:

    PA,
    Football season! So, I hope to be a little more active with my blogging. Still using a cell phone to blog. But, this is an Iphone and seems to be more blog friendly. I’m really looking forward to the Nutt era and the Snead era. I have much more hope without O driving the bus.

  7. oxfordrebel Says:

    PA, excellent report as usual. Hope to see us come out swinging this Saturday, maybe we can run the score up on Memphis. It’d be nice to actually win by a comfortable margin for once.

  8. farley662 Says:

    I’m pulling for you guys. I hope y’all are 11-0 coming into the day after Thanksgiving. Ask me again then after I see how Croom has done this year as to who I’m rooting for then.

  9. djrebel Says:

    No-handle, it’s been a while. Welcome back. Congratulations on the upgrade.

    — PA

Leave a Reply

