FOOTBALL: Today’s Agenda

Taping radio a day early today. The focus will be recap of what we called last week the first “Separation Saturday” in the SEC. Lots of big games last week with LSU-Auburn, Florida-Tennessee, Ole Miss-Vanderbilt and, outside the league, Georgia-Arizona State. Got Alabama at Georgia this week.

Ole Miss presser begins at 2. I’ve requested Greg Hardy, Jerrell Powe, Cordera Eason, Maurice Miller and Jamarca Sanford. I’ll post some notes in the afternoon and should have some stuff on the blog as the day rolls along.

— PA

21 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Today’s Agenda”

  1. john Says:

    My dad turned to me during the game –after the 3rd or 4th interception (I lost count) — and said, “well I guess we know now why Snead ended up at Ole Miss.” We are absolutely a hopeless program. But I “hope” I’m wrong. I just wonder when Ole Miss players (in any of the three major sports) will actually, really want to play as a team and really win. And when will Ole Miss fans will get tired of it all and 25,000 folks in the stands become the norm; and when the SEC decides that Ole Miss is no longer worthy to be in the SEC — we haven’t won an overall, reg. season SEC championship in any of the 3 major sports since the 70’s right? and never in basketball. Really what do we bring to the SEC — fans? revenue? tv ratings? The only thing we bring is an easy “W”. Thought about this as I drove back to Atlanta and as I was mailing my season tix to my Dad to use as he chooses. Five straight losing seasons is too much for me travel 12 hours during my weekend.

  2. rebnutt Says:

    Way too early to get down on our QB, he hasn’t played much in 2 years, and he’ll show us more “Wake” type games in the future.

    PA–our play does raise some questions for the future: what’s our OL gonna look like next year–they’re not as strong this year as advertised & I worry about Snead protection & run-blocking for the next couple of years. So, what are the recruiting priorities? I hear we have a shot at WR-RB Bumpus of Tupelo (made for the wild rebel?). But can we get the linemen to really be competitive in the SEC?

  3. djrebel Says:

    John, I think it’s too early to give up on Snead. I think expectations for this kid sky-rocketed after his Wake Forest performance. I didn’t think he was going to throw 4 touchdowns to 1 INT every game, but I didn’t expect this backward step.

    However, I think Snead has shown what he can do, and I think he has the coaching to help him overcome the mental hurdles he’s facing now.

    Rebnutt, not sure how much of a chance they have with Bumphis, but he’s the real deal. As for the OL, they like their young guys … Sowell, Alex Washington, Taum. It will be a matter of wait and see, but it could also be a better, more physical line.

    — PA

  4. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    I remember when Archie was a soph and in a game against Georgia, he overthrew a receiver wide open in the end zone. I believe Ole Miss lost that game. I agree with PA, its too early to give up on Snead.

  5. john Says:

    missing a wide receiver ag. Georgia is diff than throwing 4 interceptions ag. a beatable (albeit better than normal) Vandy team… we are not a good team… we may beat ULM… we play like a bad program — we get close ag really good teams and then lose ag beatable teams… we are the new old Vandy… not going to change until the culture changes and not sure how that will change anytime soon… 3-9; 0-8 is my prediction.

  6. Rebel TCT Says:

    I’m sure glad some of you guys were not storming the beaches at Normady or we’d be speaking German today. One close loss does not a season ruin. College football is a week to week marathon and I still like our chances this year. The 3-9 0-8 is ridiculous. Check back in late November and you can jump back on the bandwagon.

  7. Raleighrebel Says:

    3-9, 0-8? I think that is ridiculous as well. We’ll pull a few out this year, and have a good shot at beating SC, MS State, and Arkansas. Snead just had a bad game. He’s shown that he has the ability to play well, and I believe he will give us a decent season. As it was said by someone earlier, the good performance we had at the Wake Forest game probably got our fans a little too excited about having a great year. John, sounds like you would fit right in with the people on the MS State blog. They’ve given up on their season, but most Rebel fans still think we can have a good season and pull a few upsets.

  8. john Says:

    until the pattern breaks (close losses, giving away games, year after year after year) i’m predicting 3-9, 0-8 (I was hoping for 6-6 before the year so I’m not a total jerk)… then I’ll be surprised if we win an SEC game… by the way, I’m a longtime fan, season tix, who grew up selling programs at Ole Miss games so I could get in for free ($7 was too steep for a ticket in the early 70s) so feel like I can gripe and not be held out to dry as a turncoat… I never boo at the games and never would so this is my only outlet… wish I could only see rainbows and butterflies in the Rebs’ future but I”m too cynical.

  9. djrebel Says:

    Regarding Snead, I think Samford is a bad game, Vanderbilt is a trend. I think he understands the expectations, knows his ability and is pressing. I believe Kent Austin will get that corrected, but that remains to be seen.

    — PA

  10. m4rebs Says:

    I understand your frustration John, but I’m also a realistic Ole Miss fan. We will NEVER compete for the SEC on a routine basis as does LSU or Auburn, but I’m also not on 2 years in a row losing all the SEC games. I do see a much, much, much better prepared team each week, but I think we are waiting around for something bad to happen each week that loses games because that’s all any of these guys that are contributing have seen for 4 years now. I think waiting for something bad to happen usually equals creating bad things and that equals losses in our case. We just don’t have ample talent to screw up time and time again and still win like Floridas and Georgias. I think we will win a couple of SEC games, but I too am not as optimistic as the rest of Rebel Nation.

    PA – you asked me in another post about Dexter’s hair; one could easily argue if he wasn’t on this team right now, we MAY be 4-0. Big mistakes by him in critical points in both losses. Maybe too worried about the braids and look, less worried about ball security…….I know, he brings alot to the table, but at the end of the day, what has he bought us…..Pro’s and Con’s my friend.

  11. john Says:

    history says our long line coaches are not good at fixing… Spurlock, Schaeffer… I say Snead is who he is… a good game, a bad game… won’t be consistent… Ole Miss doesn’t have teh talent around to support an average QB…. Eli rose above our talent in 2003… I hope I’m wrong…

  12. djrebel Says:

    Matt, Dexter is risk and reward. In the end I think you’ll come out ahead.

    John, I’m not ready to call Snead average, and I like the coaching I see now above what I saw in the last three years. The previous staff had chemistry issues, and on offense, Dan Werner’s hands were tied with certain things. I’m going to wait a while longer.

    — PA

  13. mobilereb Says:

    PA – On the interceptions that Jevan threw, especially the first pick six, was he keyed in on one receiver, was it a bad throw or was Ryan Hamilton just that good?

  14. djrebel Says:

    I don’t remember exactly on the first one, and I don’t want to misspeak, but seems like he was looking one way. A couple of the others looked like he was just heaving it. At least one was off his back foot. The last one was on the last play of the game, a desperation throw which has a high percentage of being intercepted.

    Kent Austin summed it up best when he said, “Jevan’s got to learn when give up on a play and line up and play again.”

    — PA

  15. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Ole Miss under Johnny Vaught:

    Six SEC crowns (1947, 1954, 1955, 1960, 1962, 1963
    Three national championships in 1959, 1960 and 1962

    Nothing really since. Oh yes a few winning season, but nothing to brag about.

    Why did Coach Vaught have such good success with the Rebels? Great football players,tradition, where is this tradition today? Its been stripped by “political correctness”, in high leadership position.

    So face it, accept this program for what it is. That’s my say and the way I feel about.

  16. john Says:

    Parrish… i’m glad you are seeing positives out there b/c what I saw Sat night was an offensive team in disarray — none of that “one heartbeat” stuff we hear… I hope you ask some tough questions of why should Ole Miss fans feel they should continue watching this train wreck of a program.

  17. Tyler-for-Heisman Says:

    I was at the game on Sat. (which by the way may have very well been the single worse day in football I have ever experienced after my son’s 5-6 flag football team, which I coach, was humiliated 28-6) and Snead did key in on his receiver that first pick. The bad thing was, though, the ball looked like it was thrown right to the Vandy DB, and not the receiver he was keying on. Actually, thats the way several out his INT’s looked. I will say Vandy made an awesome tip-drill type play for one. But then again he had one that was clearly intercepted that for some reason the refs called and OM reception (they even reviewed it!). PA, how many reveiws did that game have? It had to be a record. If the six turnovers, 3 points on 3 drives inside the 5, and 7 penlaties for who knows how many yards can’t loose you a ball game I don’t know what will.

    Now with all that being said, I do believe we can rebound and live up to the 5-7 win expectations for the year that most of us were thinking (realistically anyway). I like the sense of urgancy that Snead brings to the offense. Seems like he wants to score on every drive. Its something totally different than the recent past. The big difference betweent him and Eli is that Eli knew when to cut his loses so he could live to fight another drive. That will come in time for Jevan.

    My big prblem with this team is our running game. Seems to me we are scared (or maybe just not good enough) to consistantly run between the tackles. That is the bread and butter of this league. I’ve always played and coched under the philosophy that in short yardage situatuions, you roll up you sleeves, bust it up the gut, and make them prove they are man enought to stop you! And you don’t give it to a glorified WR to do it! (i.e. McCluster’s fumble on the goal line) Where was Jason Cook? Can we get Oher to switch jersey’s real quick and line him up back there? maybe we’ll find out how good he really is.

  18. djrebel Says:

    Thanks Tyler, I thought he locked in on the guy but it also was a short drop where there weren’t a lot of other reads anyway. I agree with your concerns on the running game. It’s just not a very physical OL right now, and a lof of the running is done with trying to get to the outside edge.

    — PA

  19. Tyler-for-Heisman Says:

    Seems like we were doing a lot af faking inside and then handing off outside. At some point you have to actually hand off inside on those plays (even in the wild rebel) if nothing more than to keep the defense honest. I noticed Vandy creap more and more to the corners during the game to shut down the outside. I still am very pleased with the way we have played so far this year. If nothing else the offense is exciting and the defense is improving. These loses are kinda hard on the fans, though, ’cause we feel like we are being sucker-punched over and over again.

    By the way, I’ve been reading for about 2-3 years now and finally decided that I would start posting. Tyler is my 6 year old son, if you were wondering.

  20. mobilereb Says:

    Thanks for the info. I agree too that the Rebs can still turn this year around and put up a few W’s in the SEC. This is Nutt’s first year and the guys are already playing better than they have in the last 3. It was Snead’s first SEC game and I believe the coaches will get him to settle down and get back to playing well and making smarter decisions.

  21. paul kelly Says:

    even though we are coming up short in some of these games i see a much better coaching staff than we have had in recent years and i believe coach nutt’s record speaks for itself. i don’t like losing any more than anyone else, but i think coach nutt will get the job done. give him time.

Leave a Reply

