FOOTBALL: Tuberville fires Tony Franklin

The spread offense never got off the ground at Auburn. It’s worked other places, why not there? I’m trying to recall other coordinators who didn’t make it to the end of the season. Usually it’s head coaches that get canned at mid-stream. I see Tommy Tuberville says he will take a greater role in the offense for the remainder of the season. Rebels host Auburn Nov. 1.

— PA

25 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Tuberville fires Tony Franklin”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Sho do wish that tubby boy would have kept that OC until after the OM game.

  2. farley662 Says:

    I hope Tubby gets canned and State is smart enough to go after him.

  3. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    You have a good football coach, just show him and the team your support.

  4. farley662 Says:

    JB, our coach is a joke. He’s a good man, but after 5 years he’s only had one decent year. No way anyone could think that is productive enough to be earning 1.7mil a year. I support them team, that’s why I want him gone. No way we will ever be competitive with him at the helm.

  5. Chad Says:

    Farley, I admit up front I do not keep up with all of the details at Mississippi A & M, but it seems to me one of the biggest problem for the football team is no quaterback. I have seen lots of soldiers but no field generals.

  6. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Chad, think A&M could bring back Murray Warmath. He was a great football Coach. They could bring back Jackie Parker. Joe Fortunato. They were all winners.

  7. farley662 Says:

    I’d agree Chad.

  8. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    I saw the 1952 Egg Bowl. Hemingway Stadium. Ole Miss beat State 20-14 on a very wet and cold November afternoon. Jackie Parker and Joe Fortunato were the work horses for the dawgs. One tough battle. 4th qtr both teams cover with mud.. Fortunato,run,run,run, until he totally collapsed from exhaustion. Rebels held on for victory.

  9. Chad Says:

    I think we lacked a qb over the last few years. I still think Snead has some kinks to work out, but I see potential in him that has not been in one of our qb’s since that fella who plays in NY was here.

  10. va reb Says:

    You could see the writing on the wall when just last week Tubberville was talking about how much he was supporting Franklin.

  11. Mike Says:

    Face it, Mississippi Cow College is stuck with Croom until HE decides to leave on his own terms. No way he ever gets fired. No way.

  12. bigdraws Says:

    That’s a popular opinion Mike. Yet very untrue.

  13. bornarebel Says:

    I think Croom can keep his job as long as Ole Miss has losing seasons but if we get this thing turned around (which I think we are doing) Croom is going to have a hard time keeping his job. I think Croom is a good man but he just doesn’t seem like SEC head coach material.

  14. PatrickH Says:

    “I’m trying to recall other coordinators who didn’t make it to the end of the season.”

    Noel Mazzone in Ed Orgeron’s first year didn’t make through the year.

  15. bigdraws Says:

    The new AD pissed off Ron Polk. You think he’s worried about getting rid of Croom? He was hire for one reason. To avoid more severe probation by the NCAA.

  16. djrebel Says:

    Patrick, Noel was already fired but coached through the Egg Bowl.

    Guys, I’d be slow to pull the plug on Croom. He built a pretty good defense last year. This bunch is playing without its best linebacker, and a new defensive line is holding its own.

    He needs to get his offense fixed.

    — PA

  17. bigdraws Says:

    PA, I know this is an Om blog. And I apologize to all the readers for bringing up State. This is all I’ll ask and I’ll leave it at that. Do you disagree with my statement about the reason he was hired? Do you think it might have played in it a little or none?

  18. djrebel Says:

    Draws, no need to apologize. The hot seat is always a topic of interest. That’s why I posted Tuberville’s sudden personnel decision.

    Your post:
    The new AD pissed off Ron Polk. You think he’s worried about getting rid of Croom? He was hire for one reason. To avoid more severe probation by the NCAA.

    My take on that is that football is a multi-million dollar business, and it doesn’t make good sense to hand the keys to that office to someone who is not qualified. Sometimes it happens. (See Ed Orgeron.)

    My gut feeling is that State’s administration believed Croom to be qualified for the job — as qualified as any other candidate they might have had then — when they offered the job to him.

    Maybe it was an appeasement move with the NCAA, but I wouldn’t think so. If you don’t believe in the guy you’re hiring then you’re selling out your program. You’re saying it’s OK if the program steps backward and not forward. At the end of the day it’s your program and you have to live with it, no matter what the NCAA wants or thinks.

    — PA

  19. bigdraws Says:

    Thanks. I see your point. I just wonder sometimes.

  20. Mike Says:

    Draws, if MSU were to fire Croom they would become a pariah in this country. They were lauded for being the first university in the SEC (I stress SEC) to hire an african american head football coach. Whether he was actually qualified for the job or not is still up in the air I think. If he was hired as a way to appease the NCAA, that’s totally wrong.

    The only way he ever goes is on his own terms.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    I’ve heard that theory a million times Mike.

  22. bigdraws Says:

    you might as well come on here and reiterate it and resort to name calling though. Way to go. Damn you’re cool.

  23. PatrickH Says:

    Parrish, I was thinking about Mazzone’s situation when the Tony Franklin news broke. I had heard so many different stories about Mazzone: that he wasn’t with the team during the last game; that he was coaching but he didn’t have coordinator responsibilities; etc. I never did figure out what the situation was.

  24. djrebel Says:

    That was an oil and water relationship from the beginning. I don’t know exactly what Noel’s responsibilities were during the final days, but I know he was on the staff.

    Right after that Egg Bowl whipping in 2005 he got out of the locker room quickly, whizzing right by us smiling with “no comment” all the way. That was probably a mutual thing.

    — PA

  25. paul kelly Says:

    boys as much as i dislike the snake at auburn, i can never feel sorry for him. i hope he looses every game they play and he gets his just deserts and is fired also. GO REBELS

Leave a Reply

