FOOTBALL: Conerly Trophy

The award goes to the state’s top college football player each year. It’s the Mississippi Heisman. There are three slots on the ballot, and football players from all four-year schools regardless of class are eligible. I have an idea who I will put on my ballot, but I’m still getting three names together. Who do you guys think are the top three players. Rank them in order, and give a few supporting facts and opinions.

The official Houston Nutt news conference begins at 2, and I’ll post some notes later today.

— PA

30 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Conerly Trophy”

  1. Stuck in Big 12 Country Says:

    I am going to go with P. jerry- unstoppable force

    The running back from Southern Miss- his name slips my mind

    I’ll say the punter from state- he sure has gotten a lot of work, deserves that trophy,

  2. bigdraws Says:

    “I’ll say the punter from state”

    That de-credits any comment you have made or ever will make in the future.

  3. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Draws, did you have a good trip to Tuscaloosa and back this week-end? Defense another good performance, Offense still need work.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Had a great time JB (other than the outcome of the game). Tide fans were very hospitable and we were treated great at the tailgate. All the chili, beer, and pigs n blanket you could handle. Great football weather too.

  5. djrebel Says:

    Right now I’m liking Peria Jerry and Juan Joseph, the QB at Millsaps. I’m still researching the third spot.

    — PA

  6. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    I like Mississippi State’s Tim Bailey and OM Peria Jerry. A tie, both deserves this Trophy.

  7. Stuck in Big 12 Country Says:

    i just said that as a joke, geez! He actually is close to the top in punts this year and done pretty good. I am thinking Jerry will win it.

  8. bigdraws Says:

    Big 12, he had 2 punts of less than 20 yards in one game earlier this year. He was booed off the field on two different occasions. I understand the joke but by no means has he had a good season. 2 or 3 games maybe.

  9. rebel2011 Says:

    What about Michael Oher? can there be two finalists from the same school? Because if so then both him and Peria Jerry are deserving. I still am not sure about the third one either

  10. rebel 38663 Says:

    That ripleyreb is a handsome guy.

  11. rebel 38663 Says:

    Am I back on PA? Ripleyreb.

  12. Stuck in Big 12 Country Says:

    i understand but as much as their offense has struggled he has to be called on to punt…I think oher and jerry co-winners

  13. rebfan Says:

    if cordera eason keeps going like he is, you might need to consider him, too.

  14. RoastBeef1 Says:

    1. Juan Joseph- Millsaps- Admittedly I don’t know much about him but Millsaps is having an undefeated season, blowing out everyone and posting tons of points

    2. DeAndre Brown- Southern Miss- I know he’s only a freshman, but just look at the numbers. I know it’s CUSA, but no one can cover him. Plus the guy was still the #3 HS WR in the country last year only behind Julio Jones and AJ Green so we all know it isn’t all the competition, he can play.

    3. Peria Jerry- Ole Miss- we all know what he does to help a team win. I just like the other two guys on my list a little more for this trophy.

  15. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Just to bact up Brown with some stats, I looked these up on the school’s website. 63 catches, 1,057 yards, 12 td’s.

  16. djrebel Says:

    Beef, I like Brown. Had kind of forgotten about him during Southern’s slide, but I saw him a little against UAB when that game was on CSS. He’s a freshman who has lived up to the hype.

    — PA

  17. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Yeah, 6’6″ 230 is pretty hard to stop for little DB’s, that’s why I think he would be doing well basically anywhere in the country. He might not have the same numbers in the SEC, but he’d still be a gamechanger. He’s doing all of this too with a QB that really can’t stretch the field much at all.

  18. farley662 Says:

    Is there no one on Delta State? They are the #1 team in the country.

  19. cr Says:

    I agree with Peria Jerry and Juan Joseph. Joseph is an incredible talent and is a man among boys in D3. DSU is ranked #4 heading into the playoffs but it has been very much a “team” success story. They really have no one leading the conference in any particular area. I think they deserve someone. Their QB Garrett DeWitt is a junior and has thrown 24 TDs, 2,473 yards and complted 61.6 % of his passes but is only 6th in the Gulf South in yards per game. Senior OL Mark Ellis was a pre-season D2 All-American and may be who their coaches would recommend. I think Joshua Shene also deserves some consideration.

    If there was a coach of the year it would be hard to pick between Nutt, Dubose and Roberts.

  20. djrebel Says:

    Farley and CR, I want to investigate Delta State too, because I think this is more a team award than an individual award. Hard to get an OL on there, though. CR, I think Shene’s a good pick too.

    — PA

  21. Jay Stokes Says:

    peria jerry, michael oher…..not sure who else. i don’t keep up with state or southern as much as i should. does anybody know if anthony dixon is having the type of year that would put him on that list?

  22. djrebel Says:

    I don’t think Dixon’s having that type of year.

    — PA

  23. footballfan4life Says:

    Shay Hodge:

    Tied for first in SEC with 7 TD receptions
    7th Rec. yards
    10th in receptions
    He didnt play last week and has shared the load with Wallace and Dex all season.
    Jerry is a beast but do awards like this usually go to a defensive player?

  24. Jay Stokes Says:

    that’s interesting about dixon…..i knew he was a good back and figured he’d have a big season. hopefully he doesn’t decide to have a career day on november 28th.

  25. farley662 Says:

    Dixon has had a constant case of the happy feets. Won’t just run downhill!

  26. va reb Says:

    Jerry, UM
    Pegues, MSU

    Joseph, Millsaps

    It is time for a defensive lineman to win it. Pegues has been a consistent bright spot for State. Joseph has led a very good Millsaps team.

  27. bigdraws Says:

    I love listening to the “experts” that sit by me at the MSU games……”If Dixon would just hit the hole instead of dancin he’d get a lot more done.”
    Uh, hey Knute Rockney, there ain’t a hole to run through.

  28. farley662 Says:

    Draws likes to see him dancing. Likes the way his rear end looks when he’s wigglin it.

  29. bigdraws Says:

    At least you can see his rear end from my seats.

  30. farley662 Says:

    Touche!

Leave a Reply

