Chat On

I’m here till 10 if anyone is out there and wants to talk Ole Miss. I see Ripley Reb has already checked out. First loss for hoops tonight. Utah may prove to be a good team, but they don’t jump out at you right now. Tougher non-conference schedule this year with West Virginia and Louisville. That young talent is going to have to come together quickly.

Football Rebels are in Baton Rouge. I’m in Pearl and will be down there tomorrow.

— PA

73 Responses to “Chat On”

  1. djrebel Says:

    All eyes on Zack Graham on this basketball team right now as Ole Miss coach Andy Kennedy tries to replace junior guard Eniel Polynice. Graham had a good game at home Tuesday but not a good one tonight. 23 minutes, 0 points, 0-for-6 shooting, 4 fouls, 2 rebounds.

    5 points on 2-for-3 shooting and 4 rebounds in 20 minutes for Terrico White.

    — PA

  2. m4rebs Says:

    I’m afraid this is going to be one of several losses with L’ville and WVU coming up. We’ve lost a lot in the last 7 days, and not just on the scoreboard.

  3. david Says:

    what are you hearing about players the rebs are going for? Bumphis and Thames, gotta have athletes. What do you think about Tommy T, if they let him loose who wins?

  4. Jay Stokes Says:

    hey PA….i just got back from work tonight and saw the ole miss score. did you follow the game at all, and if so….what would you say their main struggle was?

  5. djrebel Says:

    Here’s a stat for you Matt. Utes shot 53.4 from the floor, 48 percent from the arc.

  6. djrebel Says:

    Matt, how would you replace Polynice?

  7. m4rebs Says:

    Yeah, I saw that in the boxscore. Looks like we will have trouble guarding the taller guys that can shoot from outside, again. Auburn game(s) from a year ago???

  8. djrebel Says:

    David, I’m hearing Bumphis to Florida. Don’t know about Thames.

    Jay, didn’t follow the game. I stopped in Starkville and had dinner with my nephew at State. I just got the box score here a few minutes ago.

  9. m4rebs Says:

    He’s really irreplaceable due to experience. I’m like you, I thought Graham would pick up some slack. It would be nice to have the kid that came in off the bench last year that transferred.

  10. djrebel Says:

    Not sure guarding guys inside is going much better right now. South Al was quicker and got around the Ole Miss post guys. I liked the energy and effort in rebounding that I saw Tuesday night, though.

  11. david Says:

    dj, just got off the phone with my folks they said the rebels are out in force in new orleans,

  12. djrebel Says:

    I was listening to some high school football on WWL driving down. My alma mater got knocked out last week. Kentrell Lockett’s high school coach was the analyst on the radio tonight.

  13. Barry Spencer Says:

    PA,
    Where are the Rebs staying tonight?

  14. djrebel Says:

    I don’t know if two games tells the tale on Zach, but it’s going to be hard to have that linescore too many times. Not much from Cranston tonight.

  15. flareb Says:

    PA,
    Will weather be a factor tomorrow? Windy and cold here for us S. Floridians. Also, do you think Rebs benefit from an LSU comeback last week or an LSU loss? Lots of emotion exerted last week.

  16. david Says:

    PA, i was watching the duke game and Dick v took a cheap shot at ole miss about cutcliffe, we make a big deal about how the players feel how easy is it to write when the rebs are doing well rather than when they are struggling

  17. m4rebs Says:

    We may just have to admit pretty soon that we aren’t near as good as we thought we would be due to the early injuries. We will mature greatly this year. I’m not saying we aren’t a tourney team or anything, but we are going to take a few bumps and bruises early on until we gel with the younger guys really playing much more important roles.

  18. djrebel Says:

    Barry, I don’t know where the Rebels are staying. In the past they’ve liked that Holiday Inn at the intersection of Airline Highway and I-12. Basketball ahs stayed at the Marriott on College Drive.

  19. djrebel Says:

    I think hoops will get better. There is talent, but any time you bring in new guys at this level this is a period of acclimation. Doesn’t matter what you did in high school. I thought the Rebels would absorb the loss of Gaskins. Polynice is a different story.

  20. djrebel Says:

    David, what was V’s comment on Cutcliffe?

  21. m4rebs Says:

    Dick Vitale doesn’t know his a from a whole in the ground, especially about college football. He is a guy that could have prevented Ty Washington’s dismissal at Notre Dame. If Cutcliffe could have recruited ANYBODY, I’d feel the same way. 4 years of Cutcliffe recruiting was almost as good as Tommy Tuberville’s first 2 years of recruiting while on probation.

  22. djrebel Says:

    Flareb, weather channel says sunny and 64 in BR tomorrow. May be a bit cooler.

    I think the Troy game is a tough call, but my guess is the emotion involved in the comeback could serve as a spark.

    Have to see. They may have exerted too much energy to get up for a fast start tomorrow. I’m guessing they’ll be ready to play.

  23. m4rebs Says:

    Ty Willingham, not Washington. How did you like that combo….coach+FORMER employer??

  24. flareb Says:

    Rebs lost leadership from last years team and to me don’t seem to have a got to guy. Losing Curtis will have an effect on this team.

  25. david Says:

    he was talking about how duke sports were doing, and he said that coach cut got a raw deal from miami, and then said oh wait that was the rebels. He went on to saw how they gave him the shaft after taking them bowling. just interesting during the middle of a game.

  26. Raleighrebel Says:

    PA,I haven’t done my homework. What are the bowl scenarios for ole miss right now?

  27. djrebel Says:

    We’ll cut you some slack Matt. This is the latest chat we’ve ever had. Probably the first one you’ve been available for.

  28. david Says:

    do you know any high school scores? mainly OB and SP

  29. flareb Says:

    Dickie V’s daughter is or was at Duke…….He’s a Dukie homer.

  30. djrebel Says:

    Raleigh, I think 2 wins would likely put Ole Miss in the Cotton Bowl. 1 win I think would get them to the Music City, possbly Chick-Fil-A. Lots of back-door deals on these bowls. You never know for sure.

  31. djrebel Says:

    Haven’t heard anything on MS prep scores tonight. I can tell you that the No. 1 team in Louisiana 5A, West Monroe, was losing 28-21 to start the fourth at home.

    That interests an old Louisiana boy like me, but probably not too many on this blog.

  32. djrebel Says:

    Regarding the blog, we’re doing some djournal.com upgrades in January and are supposed to get our own blog software. In the process I’m told we’ll have a “real time” chat room.

  33. m4rebs Says:

    I agree with PA, that Troy game could really go either way. I’ve heard alot of folks say they found something in the second half that they haven’t had all year. Then again, it was the exact same team that got down by 28 points. Who knows, if we worry about ourselves and NOT turn the ball over, I think we are talented enough to beat anybody in the country. Regardless of who thinks the Florida game was a fluke, we stood toe to toe with them and beat them in their yard. It wasn’t like we intercepted them 3 times and ran them back for TD’s. We took the lead, they took it back, and we won it in the end. I’m getting tired of the fluke comment. That also shows we can play with anyone. No one else, before or after that day in G’ville has even played on the same hemisphere as the Gators.

  34. flareb Says:

    PA,
    What’s it going to take for the Rebels to get to Fla…….last time I saw them here was against Michigan in the Gator and I knew we were in trouble when I saw Michigan’s band.

  35. david Says:

    i am excited about tomm, game at 2;30 then interested in seeing the tech sooners game, should be a shoot out…

  36. djrebel Says:

    The Florida game was not a fluke, but the Gators weren’t playing at the level they are now.

    LSU may have found something in the second half last week, but if it’s against the Sun Belt, what exactly have you found?

  37. m4rebs Says:

    West Monroe Rebels, Robert Lane’s stomping grounds. Who to, Evangeline?

  38. david Says:

    i actually heard a lot of lsu fans were selling their tickets, anyone wanna guess the number of rebel fans there tomm decked out in red

  39. djrebel Says:

    Flareb, I think it would take 8 wins and then would depend on how the other bowls shake out.

    It’s been my experience that the Outback has no interest in Mississippi State or Ole Miss, and I don’t see the Rebels in the Cap 1 bowl.

  40. Jay Stokes Says:

    hey david, who do you like in the raiders/sooners game?

  41. m4rebs Says:

    I agree PA. Didn’t Troy beat ULM on a last second FG? The exact same ULM team we mopped the wind-blown Astro-Play with by 59 last week?

  42. djrebel Says:

    Matt, Lane actually stomped at Neville, which is West Monroe’s main rival. West Monroe is a suburb, actually across the Ouachita River. Neville is in Monroe.

  43. djrebel Says:

    Forget who was beating West Monroe, but it was somebody from the New Orleans area I think. Evangel has dropped down to 2A. No longer allowed to “play up” in Louisiana.

  44. flareb Says:

    PA,
    Congrats on the blog upgrade. I’m very thankful to have this info. Draw’s gets his panties twisted on here but hey all in good fun.
    Do you think there is anything to the coaching rumors I see on here. Any rift?

  45. m4rebs Says:

    You won’t be able to tell how much red is there. They put about 10,000 in the South Endzone, the rest are at the top 4 rows of the upper decks, near the Stratosphere. On my ticket requests for LSU games, I always mark South Endzone, but that’s not gravy-train with biscuit wheels. You are a prime target for the LSU drunks in the upper bowl in the South End zone.

  46. djrebel Says:

    ULM beat Troy 31-30 on a late drive. The only quality win for my alma mater this season.

  47. david Says:

    i am going to go with sooners becuase its in norman,

  48. Jay Stokes Says:

    i don’t care what anybody says about LSU “finding” something at the end of that troy game…..that’s a bunch of bull to cover for the fact that they’re not the team they have been the last couple of years. if they “found” anything at all, it was the realization that they might not be as good as they thought.

  49. djrebel Says:

    I don’t think there’s rift enough to get upset about. I think Pete keeps a tight grip on the purse strings, and no head coach is going to like that.

  50. djrebel Says:

    You’ll know if LSU found something if Jarrett Lee doesn’t throw a pick.

  51. Jay Stokes Says:

    hmmm…i wasn’t aware it was in norman. i’m always blown away at big 12 teams putting 60 points on the scoreboard with ease this season. it’s like there isn’t even a defense on the field. it would be awesome to see a 64-58 final score, ha.

  52. Jay Stokes Says:

    he’ll throw one, PA……he’ll throw one. 😉

  53. m4rebs Says:

    Pete Boone is a butt-hole, nobody can get along with him, I just don’t think he’ll let him go. I don’t think Chac. K will let that happen. Chac. K has an eye for talent in filling his positions around the University, and he sees what Nutt has done in 1 year here. Then again, Ed didn’t have much hope on the field. If you could take Ed’s recruiting skills and Cut’s X’s & O’s, you’d have something…..oh yeah, there is that guy…Nick Saban.

  54. flareb Says:

    M4,
    Nestle, settle down on the “mopping the astro play”. I like it when you pick against us. M4’s version of the Corso curse. Don’t start picking us now.

  55. Jay Stokes Says:

    PA….it seems like a lot of the traveling you do might get tiring after a while…..do you mind it, and is it something you could see yourself doing in five or ten more years?

  56. Raleighrebel Says:

    Would love to see the rebels play the tarheels in Atlanta.

  57. david Says:

    i dont think the big 12 plays def, its who can score the most, def’s dont even come on the field until the 4th quarter.

    PA- what are you hearing about Gaberial hunter and his injury?

  58. djrebel Says:

    Hey guys (and maybe there are gals out there I don’t know about), thanks for checking in. I’m checking out. Gonna hit the road early and stop and visit my dad a little bit at his camp near Kentwood, and I’ll check on mom before going to the game.

    — PA

  59. flareb Says:

    I wish we had kept Ed as a recruiter………..if there are somethings I could wish possible that would be at the top of the list. My families health first of course.

  60. m4rebs Says:

    C’mon flareb, am I that bad? Lee Corso? Did you not see my Prediction earlier this week, I’m sticking with my MO.

  61. Barry Spencer Says:

    Thank’s PA,
    Be safe tomorrow.
    Barry

  62. flareb Says:

    M4,
    I appreciate your insight and enjoy your thoughts on OM sports. I’m going to check your prediction. Stay the course. Gentlemen, enjoyed the conversation. Let’s give them hell tomorrow. Go Rebs.

  63. m4rebs Says:

    Thanks for hosting it PA. Have a good trip tomorrow. If you get in town in time to grab a bite, City Cafe on Perkins has a really good Po-Boy. And there is a great Muffaletta shop on Coursey, near Sherwood Forest – Pocharello’s.

  64. redstickrebel Says:

    djrebel I’m chatting from Denham Springs I’m from Mississippi and have lived in La since 2000. I was listening to 1210the score here in BR and they had this guy on from Rebelsports.net and this guy is from Ruston, perhaps you know him. He led the radio guys to belive that Houston Nutt is not happy at OM and would be interested in another school if they came calling. This would be out of the SEC. I heard what they heard and I didn’t get the same take they did. You know anything about that? Also I believe OM can win out LSU is regressing from what I have seen.

  65. m4rebs Says:

    Thanks flareb. I really enjoy our group on here too. I think Draws brings a unique perspective being an arch-rival’s fan, yet has enough of an open-mind/stomach to deal with us all. Till I found this blog two or three years ago now, I really didn’t have a way to vent about Ole Miss sports and try to get any feelings about my team. I’ve lived in Baton Rouge and Tuscaloosa since leaving Oxford back in 2001.

  66. m4rebs Says:

    Great, all we need is another Fruit-basket turnover after we have a decent staff in Oxford. Somebody needs to reel somebody in….at least my opinion. Was the guy’s name Neal McCready???

  67. m4rebs Says:

    He’s the Rebelsports.net lead writter. I have a buddy that reads that pretty regularly. I haven’t seen anything on there that would lend to agree with that, but who knows.

  68. bigdraws Says:

    Hey PA, fix your clock!!!

  69. redstickrebel Says:

    Neal McCready is his name. Like I said I didn’t get that from him. I think what he said that made them feel that way was: If Ole Miss wins out OM should open there checkbook and give him a raise. But their entire next hour was OM is going to let Nutt get away. I’m a lifelong Rebel and I will say these guys don’t know anything about OM other than they are a lower teir team in the SEC. One of these guys is origianlly from Missouri and he said a couple of weeks ago that the state of Miss. is the most broing State to drive through in the US and that they should make the State a landfill. McCreay had a lot of flattering things to say about OM.

  70. bigdraws Says:

    BTW, as a bulldog I appreciated the sympathy yall gave the Farley family earlier. Just wanted yall to know that Aedan had a tough afternoon, and they had a huge scare. He’s been moved back to stable condition and they still need a ton of prayer. Thanks guys.

  71. bigdraws Says:

    If you’d like to send condolences (sp) here’s a link to his care page.

    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/aedanfarley

    Sorry to interrup. Now back to Rebel sports.

  72. bigdraws Says:

    And to those of you who say out announcers have no energy, I leave you with this.

    [audio src="http://www.sixpackspeak.com/jim.mp3" /]

  73. ripleyreb Says:

    Thanks Draws I enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

