I posted this as a response below, but I’m putting up here for easier viewing.

— PA

The Southeastern Conference has agreements to send nine of its member institutions to postseason bowl games following the 2008 season. The winner of the SEC Championship Game will automatically participate in the Bowl Championship Series comprised of the Sugar, Rose, Orange and Fiesta Bowls.

The Capital One (2nd), will then make its pick following the BCS selections. The bowl must select the team with the next best overall record or a team within one win of the team with the next best overall record.

The Outback, Chick-fil-A and AT&T Cotton Bowls will work with the conference office to determine picks 3-5. The Cotton Bowl has the first preference of teams from the Western Division and the Outback Bowl has first preference of teams from the Eastern Division. The Cotton or Outback Bowl can select teams outside of its divisional preference, but must not select them before the opposite bowl selects from its divisional preference. The Chick-fil-A Bowl has the selection of preference following the Cotton and Outback Bowls.

In selections 6-7, the AutoZone Liberty and Gaylord Hotels Music City Bowls will make their selections, not in any specific order, but in consultation with the SEC Office. The Bowls will rank available qualified teams in order of preference. If there are no similarities in the order of selection, the bowls will be granted its selection. If the bowls rank the same teams in preference, the team involved in the process would get its preference of which bowl to participate.

The Petro Sun Independence Bowl will receive the eighth selection and the Bowl will have the ninth selection of available SEC teams.

Dec. 28 • 8 p.m. ET • ESPN
Shreveport, La. • Independence Stadium (50,459)
Teams: SEC vs. Big 12

Dec. 29 • 3 p.m. ET • ESPN
Birmingham, Ala. • Legion Field (71,594)
Teams: SEC vs. Big East

Dec. 31 • 7:30 p.m. ET • ESPN
Atlanta, Ga. • Georgia Dome (71,228)
Teams: SEC vs. ACC

Dec. 31 • 3:30 p.m. ET • ESPN
Nashville, Tenn. • The Coliseum (67,000)
Teams: SEC vs. ACC

Jan. 1 • 11 a.m. ET • ESPN
Tampa, Fla. • Raymond James Stadium (65,657)
Teams: SEC vs. Big Ten

Jan. 1 • 1 p.m. ET • ABC Sports
Orlando, Fla. • Florida Citrus Bowl (65,438)
Teams: SEC vs. Big Ten

Jan. 2 • 2 p.m. ET • FOX Sports
Dallas, Texas • The Cotton Bowl (68,252)
Teams: SEC vs. Big 12

Jan. 2 • 5 p.m. ET • ESPN
Memphis, Tenn. • Liberty Bowl Stadium (62,338)
Teams: SEC vs. Conference USA


4 Responses to “FOOTBALL: SEC Bowl Policy”

  1. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Thinks PA for this posting. Its rather clear as mud to me, but most things like this is, so I will rely on your expertise to guide old fools like me thru this. Hopeful Ole Miss will land up in a class bowl this season. Again Thanks, and have a great day and week-end. Jimmy

  2. djrebel Says:

    Thanks Jimmy. Good weekend to you and your family too.

    — PA

  3. Walt Says:

    For what it’s worth, the Cotton Bowl’s capacity is 92,000. They completely bowled in the second deck before this season. Just letting you know. Thanks for the post.

  4. djrebel Says:

    Thanks Walt. It will be fun seeing the last game in that old stadium.

    — PA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: