FOOTBALL: Cotton Bowl update

Just got off the phone with Rick Baker, the president of the Cotton Bowl, with whom I’ve enjoyed a spirit round of phone tag today.

The bowl committee had its first official meeting this morning. Ole Miss is their top SEC choice, which isn’t surprising.

They like the support the Rebels had in Dallas in 2003, although like Cap 1’s Steve Hogan, Baker says his game is more about matchup than money.

“We pre-sold a lot of tickets based on the fact that this is our last game in our namesake stadium,” he said. “We don’t necessary need the team that sells the most tickets. We want the best matchup.”

The most likely Big 12 opponents are Texas Tech and Oklahoma, should the Sooners lose the Big 12 championship game.

Missouri, having played in the game last year, is not high up on the radar.

More bowl speculation in tomorrow’s print edition.

— PA

22 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Cotton Bowl update”

  1. Raleighrebel Says:

    Win or lose, I prefer Ole Miss going to the Cotton Bowl and playing a Big 12 team vs. going to the Capital One Bowl and playing a Big 10. Would be a great chance for our team/coaches to focus on preparing our secondary against a good passing team. I’ll admit I don’t know much about Michigan State, but the Big 12 is strong this year and I’d just like to see how we would do against Texas Tech….win or lose.

  2. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    GO REBELS!!!

    The Cotton Bowl is a stadium which opened in 1932 one of the four major News Years Bowl games. The Rose Bowl, The Sugar Bowl and the Orange Bowl.

    Ole Miss has put its signature there in the record books of this prestigious New Years event. As follows:

    January 2, 1956 Mississippi 14 TCU 13

    January 1, 1962 Texas 12 Mississippi 7

    January 2, 2004 Mississippi 31 Oklahoma State 28

    MVPs
    January 2, 1956 Buddy Alliston Mississippi G
    Eagle Day Mississippi QB

    January 2, 2004 Eli Manning Mississippi QB
    Josh Cooper Mississippi DE

    The Capital One Bowl is an annual college football bowl game played in Orlando, Florida at the Citrus Bowl, and previously known as the Tangerine Bowl (1947–1982). Not much fame that has took place in this annual bowl event.

  3. montrebel Says:

    What is the deal with Clayton Moore? I see the headline on Scout and if I am correct he was taken off the commit list on Rivals. Hope this means they are really going after McCarron. I think he, with the right QB coach, is going to be an asset to any SEC school hopefully wearing RED and BLUE and not just RED. Thanks PA for all.

  4. stillmagnolia5 Says:

    PA – I spoke with a huge Bama fan today (former player) and I can assure you that the Tide is jacked up for the SECCG. Look for the Georgia Dome to be 65%+ in favor of Alabama.

    Great work speaking with the CB and COB reps. I still think we go to Dallas. Either is GREAT!

  5. djrebel Says:

    A lot of people think Florida winning is a foregone conclusion. I’ll pick the Gators, but I won’t be stunned by a strong performance from Alabama. Saban gets his guys up for big games — Clemson in the opener, at Georgia are just examples.

    The status of Florida’s Percy Harvin makes things more interesting too.

    — PA

  6. Jimmy Barbee Says:

    Agree PA, think the Gators.

  7. m4rebs Says:

    I’m hoping Cotton at this point too for the Rebs. For some reason, I’m just not jacked up to go down to Orlando, and I never thought I’d feel that way. It’s wierd. I always thought that would be the first choice of bowl games I’d want to go, but I think the whole Orlando commercialization thing may have me off of it. And it doesn’t appear that game has as much pagentry as the Cotton. Anyway, we’ll see where we end up.
    On the Florida-Bama game, please don’t think I’m a Bamer, because I hate them, but growing up in this state and now living here again, I recognize that this ain’t Bama’s first time in this exact situtaion. Reference 1992, Florida’s high-powered offense lead by Pascagoula, Mississippi’s own Shane Matthews was to absolutely distroy the Crimson Tide in Birmingham…..not so fast my friends….as Bama picked off that game in the closing moments. Fast forward one month later, New Orleans, LA, Miami’s Heisman Trophy winner, Gino Torreta was to shred the Bama D…..not so fast my friends….as the Bama D single-handedly destroyed that man’s pro career before he was even drafted. That talk is all over the place here, and one other thing they have going for them….the best coach in the country. They will be ready, and it will be a great game. I’m not saying Florida won’t win, but I don’t think it will be a 10 point win, much closer if even a win at all.

  8. stillmagnolia5 Says:

    PA – You raised a good point that I had not considered….it may not mean much but I do think the fact that Alabama played in the Georgia Dome Labor Day may give them a SLIGHT advantage based on familiarity with the site. Many Gators played in the 2006 SECCG so it isn’t like FL has never seen the place. This game reminds me of the Bama – Miami Sugar Bowl when Bama beat a favored Miami team that was absolutely loaded. The Super Dome was packed with Bama fans – as I suspect the Georgia Dome will be Saturday. I’ll go out on the limb….BAMA wins 31-30 (score sound familiar?).

  9. Drew Says:

    PA- Have you heard anything about pete boone and nutt being into it about not wanting to go to the cotton bowl because of gas and nutt saying he will quit if they get selected and don’t go?

  10. Drew Says:

    someone said they read it on scout or something..

  11. umreb74 Says:

    I don’t know the details behind Clayton’s blow-up. It really troubles me that they would pull his scholarship offer and give a scholarship to Cameron Whigham. The same Cameron Whigham that was arrested for burglary this summer in Georgia! So now we’re taking more thieves but not guys that have an attitude problem! It seems to me all this time we were just settling for Clayton and not really that interested! I don’t guess we really need an 17 year-old that has character issues, but don’t take one and not the other because one has more upside!

  12. va reb Says:

    I’m pulling for the Gators by a touchdown. Thanks, PA for your work at getting info on the bowl situation. I had much rather watch the Rebs play a good Big 12 team than a Michigan State team.

  13. Doug Ingram Says:

    I agree with M4rebs…..

    I prefer the Cotton over the Capital One exactly due to the commercialization aspect. The Cotton Bowl was really outstanding back in ’04. Dallas is just a tremendous city. Defeating or even playing Texas Tech there would be a huge achievement for this Rebel team. But if its the Capital One Bowl, I’m rolling with the flow.

    Bama can beat Florida but they must get more out of their passing game to do it.

    Alabama 34
    Florida 31

  14. djrebel Says:

    Drew, I haven’t heard the gas rumor. Seems like Pete could scrape up gas money.

    — PA

  15. Omrebel78 Says:

    Why in the world do you people repeat or start such asinine rumors as the “gas” rumor? Its trivial and just plain stupid. I guess some people are just not happy unless they can find something to complain or whine about. I, for one, am simply enjoying Ole Miss Football, except finding in the middle of an update on the Cotton Bowl such asinine posts.

  16. ColoradoReb Says:

    Just talked to a friend I have that works for the Cotton Bowl. She said OM is all that was discussed from the SEC at yestersays meeting. The big question they had was the match-up. Mizz is what fits, but they didn’t get alot of interest from officials. So, that being said, it looks like Tech because they would bring alot of people to Dallas. Techs passing game would be a definate challenge for the Rebs and thats why I hope we play Mich St in the Capital One. Their running game would be a better match-up for the Rebs. Feed back PA

  17. djrebel Says:

    I think the run-oriented Big 10 teams, either Ohio State or Michigan State, would definitely be better matchups.

    The Big 12 passing teams, probably Texas Tech but Oklahoma if OU stumbles this weekend, would be a much bigger challenge.

    Ole Miss, however, has been up to the task for several challenges this season. Maybe Nutt and his staff can do it one more time.

    — PA

  18. rebel2011 Says:

    every time i hear these rumors it makes me sick first that someone would even believe that and second that even if they believed something so insane that they would even write about it.

  19. m4rebs Says:

    Who gives a poop about Gas??

  20. m4rebs Says:

    Maybe Jet Fuel…

  21. 100 Top Posts WordPress English 3/12/2008 « Kopanakinews’s Weblog Says:

    […] FOOTBALL: Cotton Bowl update Just got off the phone with Rick Baker, the president of the Cotton Bowl, with whom I’ve enjoyed a spirit round […] […]

  22. southMSreb Says:

    people used to say that teams that got beat by miss. states coach croom got croomed, i guess coom got nutted!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

