FOOTBALL: The Auburn Search

In his “Weekly Whispers” column posted today by Rivals’ Tom Dienhart, he makes a passing reference to Houston Nutt, saying not to fully close the book on Nutt with the Auburn job. I hear it’s closed. I also never say never in the business of coaches and college football.

— PA

48 Responses to “FOOTBALL: The Auburn Search”

  1. 03Rebel Says:

    Personally, Rivals seems biased with some of their reporting. I’ve thought that for a few years. I like the recruiting updates, but they always seem to spin Ole Miss success or failure. Those “whispers” may be coming from their own butts. I don’t think Nutt would agree to restructure, just to leave withing weeks or months.

  2. JB Says:

    Regardless who gets the Auburn coaching job, I have a U-Haul truck for them. It can be used as a temporary living quarters, this because it will not be long until they will be relocating..

  3. farley662 Says:

    As PA just said, you never know nowadays. Unless the person has direct ties to the university, there is no loyalty.

  4. bigdraws Says:

    Even then, farley, there still may be a question with it. Look at Rich Rodriquez.

  5. david Says:

    ok question, If my dad requested 8 and he is a season ticket holder does that mean he will get 8 tickets? I hope so. Thats the only way i get to go.

    Bill Bo Baggens for Auburn Coach

  6. amsteffe Says:

    PA, what do you think Ole Miss is going to do about recruiting…I don’t know if anyone has been paying attention, but we seem like we’re going to be in a pretty big numbers crunch. We currently have 19 commitments and Nutt said we will only sign 25 players. This may seem fine, but we have a pretty good amount of high-three star, four star, and a few five star players looking our way. Do you think we will put ourselves in too big of a crunch to sign some very good talent?

  7. Bo Says:

    I’ve probably said this before, but if Nutt left, which I don’t think will occur, I’d like to promote Kent Austin to the HC position. He’s got experience, albeit in the CFL, and would be loyal to Ole Miss.

    Let’s be honest here, Ole Miss and State aren’t going to win any National titles in my lifetime, so all I can ask of Ole Miss is to have a steady coach with consistent winning seasons and bowl appearances. Ole Miss should always have between 6 and 8 wins per year, with the occasional year below or above those threshold. I’d love to think that we could have our “Saban” and be a contender, but even if we slipped up and had a great SEC West title or something like that, our coach would be snapped up immediately and we’d have to start over again.

  8. Bo Says:

    I haven’t really kept up with coaches being passed around until the last few years, but I was wondering if Sherrill was courted by other teams after the Madkin era at State?

  9. bigdraws Says:

    Didn’t you ask that yesterday David? I’m sure his 8 tickets won’t be a problem. When we’ve ordered from State like that in the pass I think the limit was 10. Bo, the only team I heard mention Sherril was some junior league or something like that over in Alabama. He was at an MSU game earlier this year signing autographs with Discenzo Miller. Guess he’s made up with whomever he disliked down there.

  10. m4rebs Says:

    David, I think it really depends on his UMAA (old Loyalty Foundation) status. If his donation is at a certain tier, he can order so many tickets for the bowl game. You probably won’t have any trouble as long as he meets the 8 ticket tier requirement. If the system let him put in for 8 through his username and password on the olemisssports.com ticket system, he should be good. If he just made the request, it may be a different story. I wish I would have known your desire prior to me putting in my order, I left some on the table. Sorry.

  11. m4rebs Says:

    Where is Colorado Reb to fufill his promise. I’ve got all these State guys in my office waiting for him to tell us who their new coach is going to be. It’s hard to work with all these cowbells going off in my ear…..hurry!!!!

  12. bigdraws Says:

    He’s waiting on Dorothy and toto to get to his emerald city.

  13. Raleighrebel Says:

    I’d prefer to have Methuslah start posting again on a daily basis than to hear one more prediction/news flash from that guy.

  14. bigdraws Says:

    He already does Raleigh. He goes by the name of Jimmy Barbee.

  15. djrebel Says:

    David, I’ll see if I get something different on that ticket question, but I think Matt’s on the money there.

    Amsteffe, I just wouldn’t expect to be blown away by Nutt’s recruiting classes. I think he thrives on taking 3-star prospects and “coaching them up.” Brandon Bolden is a perfect example of that.

    I wouldn’t be concerned about a numbers crunch either. He’ll move things around enough to get the people he wants.

    — PA

  16. djrebel Says:

    Charles Goldberg thinks the Auburn search might finish up soon. Gill interviewed today.

    — PA

    http://blog.al.com/spotnews/2008/12/auburn_interviews_buffalos_tur.html

  17. farley662 Says:

    He can’t find anything on Gene’s or Sixpack. He will chime in as soon as the story hits the newswire.

  18. Jeff Jolly Says:

    Farley,
    What is the link for Gene’s page? I used to work with him in Columbus in days gone by at a place called Tuesday’s on river hill. We had a lot of fun jawing back and forth about state and Ole Miss in those days.

  19. farley662 Says:

    http://www.dawgsbite.com

  20. UPTexan Says:

    PA, to all your loyal posters, on Cotton Bowl tickets, go to Stubhub.com; there are plenty of SEC side tickets for sale, at prices from $75 up. Great layout of the stadium so you can see where the seats are located. FedX 2 day delivery. Cotton Bowl seats 88k with the upgrade; I think the Ole Miss crowd will be pleased with the upgrades; city of dallas had to do the upgrades just to keep Texas/OU.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    Jeff, just get on the scout board and go to State’s site. Might not want to read that stuff at work though. Your boss might wonder what your laughing at when you read all that ridiculous crap.

  22. ripleyreb Says:

    Hey Draws, don’t forget to give me a call when you come to Dumas.

  23. ColoradoReb Says:

    Ok Wesley Carroll is gone. More to come or go that is. Gill is at Auburn. State ran into a snag in Dallas on Monday so there is no way of knowing but I’ll go with Ellis Johnson for now. I think he’s a great coach and if he brings in the right OC then they’ll be fine.

  24. ColoradoReb Says:

    Who was that that said no one was leaving State?

  25. m4rebs Says:

    So that’s your inside scoop Colorado? How solid do you feel about that one? 50/50? Gill is for sure? What say you Rocky Mountain High?

  26. ColoradoReb Says:

    I’ve said Gill for sure since Saturday. Byrne met with Patterson on Monday nothing came of it. I told you some players were leaving State on Sunday. What do I have to do to prove myself?

  27. ColoradoReb Says:

    We are almost certain Ellis Johnson will be back at State as some type of coach either DC or head, but we have to wait on the Texas thing to develop.

  28. m4rebs Says:

    Hey Colorado, I’ve given you props the hole time, and you know this, man! Not many think Ellis Johnson is in the running from all the scuttlebutt. Interesting choices. Paul Finnebaum made comments on the radio yesteday with an African American caller on the line that the US may be ready for a Black President, but Auburn wasn’t ready for a black head coach. The caller was puzzled and asked how he figured that. Paul’s response was, “The State of Alabama rejected Obama overwhelmingly by a huge margin in the polls.” The caller had nothing else to say….

  29. m4rebs Says:

    So they are going to get Jason Garrett. That’d be a good hire right there. He is young and he’ll have a lot of energy for a couple of games, then, well, we’ll see…..

  30. m4rebs Says:

    Why would Ellis come back to be the DC after a year’s leave?

  31. ColoradoReb Says:

    I’m thinking there may be some changes in SC pretty soon but too early to specualte. I really think the only way Ellis is coming is as a head coach, but Byrne was trying to convince a offensive coach first. Ellis wouldn’t be bad. I think he can recruit for sure.

  32. ColoradoReb Says:

    I hear Croom has actually called recruits and advised them not to go to State because of the new administration. Of course GB has kept his phone hot trying to keep them too.

  33. ColoradoReb Says:

    One of my people close to the State situation has kinda cut me off because of an ugly phone call from someone from MSU. But you know me, I have lots of people on the inside. (LOL).

  34. ColoradoReb Says:

    Got a hot one for you PA. Terry Bowden is going to be named as the next head coach of New Mexico State University if they can meet his salary demands. I thought Croom might go to Univ of New Mexico but I think Mike Loxley won out, we should know tomorrow.

  35. RoastBeef1 Says:

    hey know it all, it’s Locksley.

  36. ColoradoReb Says:

    Go back to the locker room where there is no talk of anyone leaving Roastbeef.

  37. JB Says:

    ColoradoReb: Off sports for a minute, believe you saidthat you were from Denver, question, is Lowry and Fitzsimmons still open?

  38. farley662 Says:

    Not such a big coup with the Wes transfer Creb. Everyone expected that. And it’s Woody, not Croom doing all the courting for other schools. He has Russell talking to Spurrier now. If Gill or Johnson are not named HC, will you reveal your source so we can flood them with the same hate mail we give you?

  39. ColoradoReb Says:

    Farley, more leaving. Roastbeef said “there is no talk in the locker room” and ” I was an idiot say that”. Let see, so far, I’ve been right on everything I’ve said. Let review:
    1. Nutt is at OM. Week before announced
    2. Nutt is being contacted by Auburn. Two days before PA retracted the statement that he “was not”.
    3. Players and recruits jumping ship at State. Two days before announcements begin and after Beefjerky says I’m 100% off base.
    4. Turner Gill is talking to Auburn. PA says not likely, probably 3rd or 4th choice. Next day ESPN reports Turner is meeting with Auburn. I say he’s in at Auburn.
    5. MSU is now waiting on Patterson to decide if he will take the job and 2nd choice is Ellis Johnson.
    6. Terry Bowden is meeting with NMSt to see if they can afford to pay him and if so he will go.
    7. Mike Locksly was announced early this morning as New Mexico’s new coach. I told you that yesterday.
    Don’t hate me for what I know or don’t it’s a blog. It’s meant to be biased and of course opinionated. There really is no source that I can speak of. It’s just my opinion and I happened to be right more than I’m wrong. Let’s not get so upset over some opinions and predictions. For everyone to be so grown up here most act like they are in Jr. High. (My daddy can beat up your daddy kinda stuff.) The thing is for fun and to give a forum for discussion. I got caught up in the name calling last week but I hope I’m big enough to learn from that and not do it again. Post what you want and lets keep it clean and fun. I can assure you if I’m right on ever call I make. I will not get paid one dime for it. Although, with the excitement I have generated in here, I hear PA and the DJ are gonna hire me to increase their ratings.(LOL). The problem is they can’t pay me what I need for all this information I have. Also, I’m pretty bias to OM. I grew up a Rebel through and through and I’ll die a Rebel. No one come with me, I still will follow. I’m sorry to any of you that think it’s my greatest accomplishment in life to predict and get right a few things on here. The fact is my greatest accomplishment is my two boys and I can’t wait to watch them play at OM. It matters not to me who coaches where. I enjoy talking about college football and will continue to do so. Merry Christmas to all and I hope to see you pullin for the Rebs in Dallas.

  40. ColoradoReb Says:

    As far as I know Lowry is still open. I haven’t been downtown in a while. I go west toward the mountains to work near the Jefferson Co. complex and I’ve seen enough of the 16th street mall to last a while. There was I think some construction as always around the Quad.

  41. JB Says:

    Thanks, ColoradoReb, we were stationed at Lowry once, and just wondering about it. Went to Fitz for medical treatment..

  42. farley662 Says:

    Veazey just reported Mullen. Care to explain?

  43. ColoradoReb Says:

    I thought you were talking about the old town neighborhood sorry. They have closed a part of the street near the shops and park.

  44. ColoradoReb Says:

    Lowry AFB is closed and has been transformed into a neighborhood. The old houses are still around there though. Lowry Street is open at least in part.

  45. ColoradoReb Says:

    Fitzsimmons I think closed around 2000. It was very old. If you went to Fitzsimmons you must be a senior and thanks for your service sir.

  46. ColoradoReb Says:

    I have only lived out for 3 years or so. My secretary was my inside scoop on that info. I just know all that stuff was on the east side. She said you should see Lowry it doesn’t look anything like it did except for the old houses. She said that all those houses have been bought up and re-done and its a very nice area.

  47. Raleighrebel Says:

    Colorado,

    Can you send me your address so that I can mail you a cookie?

  48. bigdraws Says:

    Or a muzzle.

Leave a Reply

