FYI: Today’s Agenda

Packing and plumbing right now. We managed to finally get the toilet drained last night, and I’m eagerly awaiting the plumber this morning.

Hopefully I’ll make it to the Christmas luncheon at the Journal, then Brad and I are off to Cincinnati. State plays Cincinnati tomorrow at 5:30 with Ole Miss and Louisville to follow.

I’ve seen Tracy Rocker’s name tossed about as a possible assistant coach at Auburn. From what I saw it was pure speculation on an Auburn blog based on Rocker’s time there as a player.

I would place that in the category of never say never, but I also have a hard time seeing that as an attractive move for Rocker unless new coach Gene Chizik plans on making him his defensive coordinator and throwing a lot of cash that way.

Maybe those things and some allure of going to your native state and back to your alma mater could combine to make the move attractive.

Anything less, though, and Rocker would be moving his family again and trading a great deal of stability for a great deal of unknown, a situation where a lot of the fan base is against the hire of the new head coach.

Rocker also returns a lot of talent and experience among his players at Ole Miss — even though his line will look different next year without Peria Jerry, a first-team AP All-American.

— PA

16 Responses to “FYI: Today’s Agenda”

  1. oxfordrebel Says:

    I sure hope he stays PA, that whole defensive unit as a whole was great this year compared to years past. I’d hate to see anything change.

  2. JB Says:

    Wonder if Rebel Basketball team will see 20 wins this season. It appears that they have not won any big name games,so far this season. Wins over second rate teams.

  3. djrebel Says:

    Jimmy, I have a hard time finding 20 wins in this bunch unless there’s much improvement quickly.

    — PA

  4. JB Says:

    Yes, PA,I agree. You and Brad have a good trip. Don’t get snowed in.

  5. ColoradoReb Says:

    From what I hear TR was contacted yesterday. He has told some folks he is not intersted but you know money talks. He might have gone had they hired Gill. Maybe Auburn will be the bottom of the barrel next year instead of state. I think LSU is on its way down as well.

  6. Charles Says:

    LSU may have one more slow year while their QBs are still young, but have you seen their recruiting class this year? It’s scary.

  7. cr Says:

    LSU’s recruiting class is always scary. Nonetheless Nutt has won 2 in a row from them and both times in Baton Rouge.

  8. david Says:

    guys ole miss may not be in the BCS, but as it relates to grades they are doing pretty well according to espn…Though with all the negatives about going to class this may give some good hopes about what the kids down in oxford are doing, its called hitting the books! PA check it out and let me know what you think.

    http://www.newamerica.net/blog/higher-ed-watch/2008/second-annual-academic-bcs-rankings-8907

  9. Jeff Jolly Says:

    Has Nutt signed any Juco players today?

  10. djrebel Says:

    C-Reb, Auburn may be down next year, but it runs in cycles. They’ll be back. It’s about pride and money. LSU will be back. Bama will take a down turn, but none of these will last indefinitely. It puts pressure on the smaller budget schools to stay in the game.

    — PA

  11. djrebel Says:

    Jeff, I haven’t seen any official release on the recruits. He was expecting to sign two Juco linemen. I just got back from the office, and Brad and I are about to get on the road. I won’t be checking the blog until about 10 tonight. Got a couple of football stories to write tomorrow before the basketball game.

    David, thanks for the link. I’ll check that out later.

    — PA

  12. rebel2011 Says:

    PA, what redshirted freshman have impressed you the most this season? i have seen what you have said that the coaches have said, but what is your opinion? how do you see stanley and melvin harris doing? also what about lekenwic haynes or james scott the transfer from ohio state? I know he (scott) was pretty heralded out of high school and was wondering if he was a head turner. also if there are any others that have stood out. thanks

  13. 03Rebel Says:

    DJ, will you add a recruiting news section. I see where you have 2 stories to write, but give a spot for others to post news. I was a little disappointed in today’s mini-article on “area” recruiting. I don’t know if Brad will continue this (if he gets a chance) but Ellis would include the egg-bowl score and season win total in every article after last years season. Maybe you can throw a + spin on Ole Miss recruiting news, as recruits look for their names in the paper.

  14. JB Says:

    From viewing the Ole Miss active football roster, I see where The Rebs will lose about 19 seniors. These seniors are seasoned and experienced warriors. We don’t want to see these experience players leave. What is encouranging is all the lower classmen that will be around for next years play. Not only these, but the talented recruits that will be coming in. I think that this Ole Miss football program is on the up and future things look very good for the Rebels. This is just my view of the Rebels.

  15. Atlanta Plumber Says:

    That’s all great, but did the plumber get you taken care of?

  16. djrebel Says:

    2011, Stanley has been the most impressive. Nice poise and very nice touch on the deep ball. He’ll be a good one.

    I like Harris at receiver. Good hands and gives the Rebels a dimension they’ve not had at the position before with his height.

    I really like Gerald Rivers and Jason Jones on defense. They just look like athletes. We haven’t gotten to see them scrimmage all that much, but they certainly look the part.

    03, I don’t know what Gregg did following the 2007 season, but we don’t have a policy for or against including the Egg Bowl score and final record. I do that when it supports what I’m writing and makes the story stronger. I’m not into spin.

    Atlanta Plumber, yes, my plumber took care of me, and when I signed the check I wished I had minored in plumbing and not History. That’s a pretty nice hourly wage you guys make.

    — PA

Leave a Reply

