FYI: Back in town

Merry Christmas folks.

I’ve been visiting family in Denham Springs/Baton Rouge and have been away from the blog for a few days.

I did see that Andy Kennedy and his staff presented their side of the Kennedy and Bill Armstrong arrest incident with things we were hearing bits and pieces, but nobody wanted to really talk about.

This will play itself out in court in the coming weeks and present a further distraction for a team decimated by injuries.

Ole Miss basketball had a run last week of three straight days on the ESPN ticker: Thursday with Kennedy’s arrest, Friday with Chris Warren’s season-ending injury and Saturday with Kennedy’s defamation of character lawsuit.

On the court, there’s been only one game to measure with, but at least against Florida A&M the plan was pretty much freshman Will Bogan at point guard. I figure Bogan will play a lot, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see freshman Terrico White there either to give a greater athletic presence and the opportunity to penetrate and kick out.

Pretty nasty weather outside today, as we get ready for the Christmas slowdown.

I’ll be with family in Meridian on Thursday and Friday and will leave for Dallas Saturday.

The Rebels arrive late Friday with the first official functions on Saturday.

— PA

23 Responses to “FYI: Back in town”

  1. Mike Says:

    Glad to have you back (if only for a day) PA. Merry Christmas to you and your family. We’ll see you in Dallas.

  2. JB Says:

    Nice to hear from you again, PA. Merry Christmas to you and family and all the others.

  3. Charles Says:

    Thanks for the update. I can hardly wait for this football matchup. PA, do you know how many guys we will sign this year? I’ve heard around 25, but think I saw something on Rivals the other day saying somewhere around 34/35. Is that assuming some guys will not qualify or will redshirt? If they redshirt, they are still on scholarship though right? Happy holidays everyone.

  4. Matthew Rogers Says:

    Good to have you back PA and I was wondering if you could shed some light on a previous post/question:

    PA we need to hear from you. I think you stated you saw AK and a larger group leave the hotel around 9:30 pm which is a different story than AK’S version as reported here from the CL.

    Kennedy said the coaches had a late start to the evening because team meetings weren’t finished until the “10:00 to 10:30 (p.m.) range.”

    Police reports say Kennedy was arrested at 1:15 a.m.

    White said it is very normal for a college basketball coaching staff to be out late the night before a game.

    “Were we out late? Sure,” White said. “Are we normally out late the night before games when we have film at 9:30? Yes. Are most staffs in the country? Probably. I don’t know that. Most staffs that I deal with on the road get late shootaround times, do late film work with their teams and eat dinner late. It’s very, very common.”

  5. ripleyreb Says:

    Hope every one has a very MERRY CHRISTMAS !!!!!

  6. benzadawgfan Says:

    One more Rebel in Meridian. Great. Don’t go trying to convert anybody down here now. I wish everybody safe travel and a Merry Christmas!

  7. bigdraws Says:

    Merry Christmas fellas. And a happy new year. Good luck in the cotton bowl.

  8. djrebel Says:

    Thanks for the well wishes guys.

    Matthew, I reported on the blog that an Ole Miss group larger than two left the hotel at I believe 9:30. Maybe a few minutes earlier but not later.

    I was not at the hotel at that time. That was information I learned from talking to people who were and who saw the coaches.

    Now, if the person I talked to looked at his watch and it was on central time — and he did not convert his story to eastern time when talking to me — then Kennedy’s time frame is on the mark with what I was told. This assumes Kennedy was functioning on eastern time, as a I thought we all were.

    Benzadawgfan, I worked in Meridian from 1989-1993. My inlaws are all there. I covered Southern for three years, two of which were pretty good ones with Brett Favre and Clarence Weatherspoon. I covered State a little bit in 1991 and full-time in 1992.

    I think you have a pretty good cushion to work with before Meridian is considered a hotbed of Ole Miss activity.

    — PA

  9. JakefuryReb Says:

    I enjoy reading the posts, PA and all the comments people give. I hardly ever, if at all leave a comment myself but since it’s Christmas season and I’m in the giving mood, here’s my two cents. haha

    On the subject of AK: He may or may not have been out at 1 in the morning with a big game the next night. He may or may not have been “throwed”. He may or may not have been yelling racial slurs at the cab driver. He may or may not have been doing it because he was just drunk or because the driver was being rude. Either way, he’s the coach of a major university. The publicity is out there, and it’s not good for him, the university, and the state. Coaches, especially in the position he is in, are under the spotlight and the microscope 24/7. All their actions are either praised or scrutinized. He needs to be a leader and this definitely was the time to do so and he didn’t deliver. I don’t the UM needs to fire AK, they just need to set an example by taking disciplinary actions as needed so that the nation knows that this kind of behavior won’t be tolerated here.

    As for the Cotton Bowl, no more is needed than my prediction, which is:
    Ole Miss-45; Texas Tech-38

  10. JB Says:

    PA, are you still on the blog?

  11. JB Says:

    That OK PA, I had a question, but forgot what it was. Dementia setting in! Jimmy

  12. Todd Says:

    Good to see you back Parrish. Thanks for what you do here. Have a merry christmas.

  13. djrebel Says:

    Jake at this point I’m not sure he’s guilty of anything other than being out late.

    The cab driver has his lawyer cranked up, and Andy and his lawyer have told Andy’s side.

    I don’t think it looks good for the staff to be out at 1 a.m. Maybe the next time that meal is taken at the hotel, visits with friends take place the next day when the game isn’t until the evening. Perhaps that’s been discussed in private with the administration.

    At this point I’m not sure a public dressing down is necessary.

    I appreciate your reading and posting.

    Todd, thanks for the greeting.

    I hope Christmas Eve is progressing well for guys and that tomorrow is merry and bright. Right now as I look outside we have to settle for merry.

    — PA

  14. imabulldog Says:

    Merry Christmas you dirty, nasty Rebs! 🙂

  15. JB Says:

    ima, a Very Merry Christmas to you. The only dirty, nasty Rebs over here is Draws and Farley.

  16. JB Says:

    That Oxford Eagle has Snead as a Jr. Can’t put much credence tho in what they report. I thought that Snead was a Soph, spending one year as a red shirt.

  17. flareb Says:

    PA,
    In the spirit of “can we all get along” a special holiday greeting to Draws and Farley. Also, I have no desire to start year in the penalty box.
    I would ask this, as you unwrap presents and see the smiles of little ones, please take a moment and give thanks for those that won’t be home for Christmas. It is they who allow Draws and I to agree or disagree.
    Having said that, my Dad, OM graduate 60′ would have been proud of the way these Rebels have played football this year and excited about the future. It been awhile but it just seems that Ole Miss and holiday football are about like Ole Miss and pretty girls………one just don’t seem right without the other.
    To all my fellow Rebs……….Merry Christmas!!!

  18. oxfordrebel Says:

    Good to have you back PA, enjoy Christmas w/ your family and be ready for duty on Monday like the rest of us 🙂

    Merry Christmas all

  19. djrebel Says:

    Flareb, good luck with your quest to stay out of the penalty box. Oh that everyone tried so hard.

    Or, good to hear from you. I’ll going full blast on Sunday with press conferences from the media hotel. I’ll have a blog update after arriving Saturday night.

    I plan to stop over just a bit in Monroe and visit a few friends.

    — PA

  20. farley662 Says:

    Merry Christmas JB, OR, RR, other RR, Flareb, Coloradoreb, m4, RB, Bo, and of course PA. Thank you all for the well wishes and prayers for Aedan throughout the year. I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Here’s to a good Cotton Bowl and no more abused Arabs! Cheers folks!

  21. ColoradoReb Says:

    Gentlemen, Let the eating begin! I’ve been gettin’ warmed up for some big time eating on Christmas Day since Fri. I think I’ve already gained ten pounds. Hope you all have a safe and Merry Christmas. See ya to da Cotton Bowl, baby! Hope Santa brings you all somethin’ good.

  22. ColoradoReb Says:

    By the way guys, my sources in Dallas tell me Ole Miss is already leading TT 14-3 at the end of the first quarter. Looking good so far!

  23. bigdraws Says:

    Agreed Flareb. Those guys are the real heroes. I’m sitting here putting together an electric 4-wheeler thingy for my 3 year old and though I’d drop in. Merry Christmas once again.

Leave a Reply

