FOOTBALL: Saturday night chat

I’ll be in the room and online Saturday night at 9 if anyone wants to chat about the Cotton Bowl or anything else on Ole Miss athletics.

David, I have a schedule of some events that I can post late tonight. I do not have a complete schedule of fan events that might be hosted by the local alumni group.

I know there’s a New Year’s Day parade that culminates at the American Airlines Center, where the Mavericks and Stars play, with pep rallies for both schools.

I’m taking off here in a couple of hours. I’ll spend tonight in Shreveport and pull into Dallas for the Ole Miss media day at SMU tomorrow.

— PA

9 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Saturday night chat”

  1. m4rebs Says:

    David, this is the note I got from the UMAA…

    FAN EVENTS FOR THE 2009 COTTON BOWL

    Cotton Bowl Ole Miss Radio Broadcast

    December 29 – January 1

    4 p.m. – 6 p.m.

    Hyatt Regency Lobby

    Join Rebel fans in Dallas for the Cotton Bowl as they gather for a nightly radio broadcast that spotlights Ole Miss Football. The show will be hosted by Voice of the Rebels, David Kellum and will feature Ole Miss coaches, administrators and players. Fans of all ages are welcome to attend.

    Comerica Bank New Year’s Parade

    January 1, 2009

    2:30 p.m. (opening ceremonies begin at 2 p.m.)

    Downtown Dallas – Ross Avenue from Harwood to Lamar, to Houston, ending at All Star Way next to the American Airlines Center. A pep rally outside the American Airlines Center will immediately follow the parade. This Cotton Bowl pep rally will feature the Pride of the South Band as well as Ole Miss Cheerleaders and Rebelettes.

    Ole Miss Alumni Association New Year’s Day Bowl Watching Headquarters

    January 1, 2009

    11 a.m. – until

    Dick’s Last Resort

    2211 North Lamar Street

    Downtown Dallas

    Dick’s Last Resort has agreed to be the Rebels’ headquarters on New Year’s Day for those who want to watch bowl games. Enjoy black-eyed peas and a Bloody Mary bar. Dick’s will also offer happy hour prices all day and half price appetizers. Dick’s Last Resort is on the Comerica Bank New Year’s Day Parade route and three short blocks from the pep rally at Victory Plaza (American Airlines Center).

    HOTTY TODDY!!

  2. JB Says:

    My pic in avatar depicts a bridge over the river Yocona about 14 miles South of the Ole Miss Campus. William Faulkner writes about this old bridge in some of his writting. That old bridge stood and maybe even some of it still in existence today. In military training we were never to burn the bridges that we cross. Sometimes, if retreat is necessary, we may need to use these bridges once again.

    My feeling about the Ole Miss Rebel football program over the seasons since 1960’s, is, that they have burned their bridges and can’t get back to the traditions that once made them successful in the past.

    They go over to Texas to play in the Cotton Bowl in a few days the first bowl appearance for them since the Cotton Bowl about 6 years back. My thoughts are, when will they see another bowl appearance?

  3. m4rebs Says:

    Next year JB. We have a bowl team coming back next year. It may be a solid bowl too, we’ll just have to see if we can get some quality D Line play out of some different guys than Peria. Scott and Powe will have to step it up.

  4. ColoradoReb Says:

    Thanks for the post Matt. I hadn’t gotten that email from UMAA. I have also not gotten tickets. Long story but there ended up being more people in my family who have decided to go than tickets we have, so I being the good son volunteered mine. I need 4. Does anyone know of anything available? I figured I just buy some on the way in, but if anyone knows, give me a shout. Also, PA does Brad get to go to the bowl if State doesn’t go? If he doesn’t, I bet he’s putting thumb tacks in your chair at work. JB that area is a wonderful, peaceful, sight. I have been to Yoc and its truly Gods country. Hope Santa brought all yall something good.

  5. m4rebs Says:

    I can get my hands on 2. Do you want them and then just look for 2 more when you get there Colorado?

  6. m4rebs Says:

    Let me know by Saturday evening, I’m leaving the place where the tickets are relatively close, and it may be more of an issue. Let me know if you are interested….

  7. ColoradoReb Says:

    Thanks, M4, I found some on stubhub for $75 ea. Look like really good tickets. Thanks again for your help. Also, where is everybody staying? I haven’t had time to look up since before Christmas. I’ve had honey do’s, preparing for Santas arrival, and ever since I’ve trying to figure out how all this crap Santa brought works. Wish he’d start making all this stuff work alot easier and use his magic to hook it up on delivery.

  8. m4rebs Says:

    I hear there are still rooms available in the Downtown area. I think a buddy of mine said he got a couple of rooms in the Downtown Sheraton, mid-last week. Good luck with getting the room.

  9. Mike Says:

    Colorado, you may want to check the Hilton Garden Inn. That’s where we’re staying. Not sure if they have any rooms left. It’s a couple of miles from downtown and have free shuttle service within 5 miles of the hotel.

Leave a Reply

