FYI: Khayat stepping down

Here’s the link.

— PA

28 Responses to “FYI: Khayat stepping down”

  1. toddv Says:

    If you would like to make a comment about Chancellor Khayat or what is next for Ole Miss feel free to post here – http://djournal9to5.wordpress.com/

  2. Charles Says:

    I thought he did a great job while at Ole Miss. I hope he stays involved with the University in various aspects.

  3. ColoradoReb Says:

    Finally home!
    Got a personal e-mail from Robert this morning. Hate to see him go but its time to let someone younger run with those college girls on campus. Maybe we can get Col. Reb back? Anyone heard of possible replacements? One thing is for sure he was a class act while at OM and represented us well.

  4. ColoradoReb Says:

    Hope Pete goes soon!

  5. Chad Says:

    Trent Lott has been mentioned for a while now as a possible replacement. I have even seen his name mentioned this morning on other blogs since the announcement.

  6. oxfordrebel Says:

    While it’s still foggy as to how Lott was mixed up with the whole Scruggs scandal, I think it would be great for the university to work him into that position. I think he could’ve led this nation, so leading a public university should be easy for him.

  7. ColoradoReb Says:

    I sure hope its not Trent Lott Scruggs. Ronnie Musgrove would be a much better alternative.

  8. ColoradoReb Says:

    I can tell you Trent was involved and prior to that he got his start at being a crook as Sen. Eastlands bag man. It would be a disgrace to the university.

  9. ColoradoReb Says:

    I’d rather have Dickey himself.

  10. Charles Says:

    “I’d rather have Dickey himself.”

    Hahah, I think Muscrove would be great. If Trent Lott didn’t have all that baggage, he would be good as well.

  11. ColoradoReb Says:

    I don’t think Trent would be good for our race relations either. Let’s get someone who has education experience not a politician.

  12. Chad Says:

    Ronnie Musgrove? You mean the one term governor who couldn’t beat Wicker for Senator. Now, there’s a good idea.

  13. Lee Mincy Says:

    We do not need anybody that is connected to politics. Just my opinion.

  14. JB Says:

    The Rev. Al Sharpton would be another great name to throw out there for the Ole Miss Chancellor.

  15. ColoradoReb Says:

    The facts:
    Ronnie is the only Gov. in the history of Ms to fully fund education.
    During Ronnie’s term is the only time in the history of Ms that Ms wasn’t last in teacher pay.
    Ronnie didn’t resign from office because he was a little too close to a crook.
    I really don’t want a politician or anyone like that. We need someone that is a true educator.

  16. JakeFuryReb Says:

    I hope you’re not serious JB. haha In a conservative state like MS, that wouldn’t fly very well.

    My proposal: John Mark Davison. He was my senior english teacher and that guy knows his stuff. If any of you guys have connections, throw that name in there.

  17. pBeez Says:

    Khyat came close to working miracles at Ole Miss. He was exactly what the U needed after the Turner fella. We need to name a street and about 8 buildings after him.
    It’ll be interesting to see who the bring in. A politician would be a very poor idea. A Mississippian would be preferable, but I hope they don’t limit themselves to that. There are a lot of good people out there who would be proud to lead our Alma Mater.
    Did I hear right that Gloria Kellum retired recently? And that the IHL has been caught up in some kind of wildness? There was an Ole Miss reception at the American Historical Convention this past weekend, and I only recall bits and pieces of things after numerous adult beverages.

  18. pBeez Says:

    I say Bob Haws. Anyone recall him? He was chair of history for decades, and is running the Trent Lott Institute now – much to my family’s enjoyment considering how far to the left of Lott he is politically, lol. But he’s a hell of administrator.

  19. m4rebs Says:

    Let me guess, Ronnie Musgrove is a Democrat, right?

  20. JB Says:

    Just kidding JakeFury

  21. m4rebs Says:

    Warren Stocks will probably get it. He’s been on the rise ever since I was around those parts. He’s moved up quite a bit in the short time I’ve been gone as well.

  22. m4rebs Says:

    Gloria has retired. When I was there in October, she hadn’t been gone very long.

  23. Charles Says:

    What about Jim Barksdale? He seems like he would be a great fit if he wants the job. My second choice is Archie.

  24. m4rebs Says:

    I thought Gloria had retired, but it is still showing her as active in her status with the University. She usually comes over and joins the Engineering Advisory Board in which I am involved twice a year, but I thought I heard them say she had left. I could have been not awake at that point in the program too.
    My apologies to Morris Stocks. For some reason I like the sound of Warren Stocks better. My wife would kill me if she knew I called her favorite prof the wrong name.

  25. rebnutt Says:

    No politicians, Please. RK probably will want a say in who replaces him, he may want to see any projects he started completed the way he wants (e.g., the new law school). Let’s hope the AD retires.

  26. Raleighrebel Says:

    M4, Morris Stocks is a great guy and was Dean of the School of Accountancy while I was there. He was recently promoted to Provost from a newly added Vice Chancellor position. I don’t see him being Chancellor though…just my opinion. He went to a small Tennessee school and is a South Carolina grad (graduate school). His daughter attended/attends a small school (Berry college) in Georgia…no real ties to the University besides his employment as opposed to Khayat who was a die hard Ole Miss grad. I am interested in this search though. I imagine that I have probably never heard of the person that will wind up taking Khayat’s place. Some schools go outside ties to the University. Khayat wasn’t perfect but I think he did a lot more good than bad. PA, I know you aren’t getting mixed up in this search, but what do you think is the best way to follow this transition (especially for someone out of state that cannot rely on the local media)?

  27. pBeez Says:

    Barksdale would be an interesting choice – if he’d do it. Lord knows his family is connected to the school and the state well enough.
    Politicians, of either stripe, are all about show boating and positioning themselves for the next big thing.

  28. nwrman Says:

    Musgrove!
    beef plant is hanging all arond his neck

Leave a Reply

