HOOPS: Morning links

The season appeared to be in jeopardy after Chris Warren’s injury, but the Rebels showed a lot more fight in their first two SEC games than they did at home against LSU in their worst Tad Smith Coliseum loss under Andy Kennedy.

Kennedy says he doesn’t believe his legal problems affect the play of his team. Players agree, but at least one says he does notice a difference in his coach.

— PA

34 Responses to “HOOPS: Morning links”

  1. Bo Says:

    Honestly, I’d be stunned if we win 5 SEC games this year. I think having 3 players go down with knee injuries, which are pretty rare in basketball, in just a matter of weeks was God’s way of telling us to enjoy the football season and look forward to baseball.

    PA, what’s has the attendance been like? I would imagine it’s been pretty weak and that it will get worse. I would like to go but living 7 hours away basically makes that improbable.

  2. JB Says:

    Could Ole Miss basketball be returning to the Cobb Jarvis days?

  3. JB Says:

    Ole Miss not really a basketball school. It only takes five (5) good players to play the game. I believe a few years back that Michigan won the national title with five (5) freshmen.

  4. Josh Says:

    They actually lost in the NC game that year and the following year. The latter was the infamous TO called by Weber.

  5. JB Says:

    Thanks, Josh, my dementia flares up from time to time and I get things out of order. Do remember that they had a very good team with those freshmen.

  6. cr Says:

    Michigan had 5 of the top freshman in the nation. We are playing without six of our top seven from last year. Know anyone else that wants to try that?

    If ever there was a wait till next year . . . .

  7. JB Says:

    Well, ye have to play with the hand thats dealt and hope for some breaks and luck until all is back..

  8. coloradoreb Says:

    maybe we can get some track and tennis players to come in and take up some slack. personally I don’t think AK is that great of a coach if he had everyone playing. how much to buy the ole boy out? does the cab deal give us an easy out? might as well take it while we can. also, on another note, does anyone know how much Murphy and Sons has over billed us for the new bb addition? i hear its in the millions. after the ripping they gave the university on the band hall i didn’t think they would be allowed back on campus. guess they are lining the right pockets. they got shut down by osha three times for safety on the band hall. some of u big time alum should check into this one. i think khyatt was involved and so led to his resigning. all of this info came from someone who should know but i don’t know if its fact just yet. yall check around

  9. farley662 Says:

    Any clue when Swayze will be finished? Went by there Friday night and it looked like a war zone. I still think destroying the hill was a mistake.

  10. djrebel Says:

    Farley, they think it will be done for the season opener with agreeable weather. It’s a shame to sacrifice the hill in the name of progress. My kids enjoyed it when they would make a game with me.

    — PA

  11. farley662 Says:

    I don’t think it was in the name of progress, more like the name of holding someone hostage for chairbacks.

  12. JB Says:

    Yeah, a burden on the tax payers of Lafayette County and Oxford having to foot the bill for this “Swayze”.

  13. ColoradoReb Says:

    Gary Murphy doesn’t mind. Heard the floors in the new offices are already in need of repair because of, well you can guess. PA, can you find out exactly how far out of original budget these projects are going? I hate to see the hill go as well. My boys have coasted down that thing until their butts were chapped. I always liked standing there to keep the 3rd base ump in line. Will the ticket madness ever stop?

  14. m4rebs Says:

    I don’t know why we should WANT to fire Andy Kennedy. He is by far the best coach we could attract in Oxford for Basketball. We didn’t pay Evans enough money to keep him around, and he was a really good coach. i just don’t think we could replace him with a better coach, in my opinion.

  15. farley662 Says:

    For once CReb we agree on something. It’s what made your stadium unique.

  16. ColoradoReb Says:

    M4, I would just as soon close the basketball program down. If you can’t compete and you can’t afford to hire the best of the best, just get out of the business. To make the program a national joke not only disgraces the program but the University. Just do like Scruggs and take Tad’s name off the building and make some much needed football parking.

  17. QueenCityFan Says:

    CR – with your reasoning, we should have shut down the football program several dozen times. The only reason we are not competing this year is b/c 3 of our top players are GONE.

  18. m4rebs Says:

    C’mon Colorado, I don’t think we are to that point yet. Besides, we are only 2 years off an SEC Western Division title back in 2007, remember? And apparently, that is a really, really big deal. It’s not like we are a team that is the doormat in the conference, consistently. In the last 10 years, we have competed in this sport. Everybody can’t have a Roy Williams or a Mike Krackeszkeskakffipaf as their coach. Even a “genious” like Bruce Pearl struggles when the talent isn’t just saturating the floor.

  19. bigdraws Says:

    “we are only 2 years off an SEC Western Division title back in 2007”
    And a 2 seed from the west in the sec tourney. Almost like the “title” that Eli won while he was there. Not quite that ridiculous though.

  20. me Says:

    Yeah, the fab five also brought disgrace on Michigan when it was discovered they were all paid to be there. Duh!

  21. me Says:

    Saying buy out AK and close down basketball is an asinine statement. I don’t know why I read this stuff. I’m gonna try to stop.

  22. 03Rebel Says:

    Didn’t we get waxed by LSU just last year too, and they were a worse team then. Anyone remember that game in BR? Seemed like the same type game too, they jumped to a Huge lead and coasted in the 2nd. My memory could be off, but I think they held us to just a couple of actual “baskets” in the first.
    Seems like LSU has always been the team to run it up on us. I went to a game back in 99 or 00′, and it was a slaughter. I think our worst ever. And that was of course after the Shaq blowout.

  23. m4rebs Says:

    We got the 2 seed for no reason of MSU’s doing that year Draws. You claimed the West Title that year and ya’ll tied with us too, right? Is there not a banner hanging in the Hump, or did you guys not hang it because you tied? That’s what I thought, you knocking me for stating the FACT that we are SEC Western Division Champs is hypocritical, period. You were the one claiming 2 consecutive crowns, if I’m not mistaken. The defense rests, your honor.

  24. Chad Says:

    farley, This is WAY off subject, but I saw over on Brad’s blog that State is going back to maroon helmets. Are they keeping the same logo or using one of the new ones?

  25. ColoradoReb Says:

    My statement was not meant to be taken literally. I mean you have to pay to be successful in any sport these days. I know full well that our troubles this year are because of our top three being out. That doesn’t excuse AK off the court conduct and the fact that he hasn’t recruited any depth in his time at OM. We should have never put all our eggs in this one basket in hopes they could stay healthy. My point was also to say we have to support our programs, keep top notch staff, and keep top notch facilities. If we can’t or won’t do this then expect to be embarassed and joked about by national media. If all you do is disgrace the University then do nothing at all, it looks much better.

  26. ColoradoReb Says:

    QueenCity you have no idea of my reasoning and I have never suggested shutting down the football program. I have never even seen you on this blog before. My comment was in reaction to M4, who I disagree with alot, but at least he knows something about the subject. Both of us agree we don’t like for coaches or anyone else to embarass the University we love so much.

  27. bigdraws Says:

    We did tie that year Matt. And State had the one seed in the tourney. Don’t remember why, just thought I’d pull your chain. Now the 03 title yall claimed in football….Don’t remember seeing yall in Atlanta that year.

  28. jr85reb Says:

    I went to Atlanta that year. Had a great time. Were you there?

  29. QueenCityFan Says:

    CR – I didn’t realize you weren’t being literal – my apologies. I grew up in Oxford and went to Ole Miss; I don’t spend much time posting on this blog, but I do read regularly and I think I know something of the subject. Over the years I’ve grown a bit weary of big mouths, so I guess I over-reacted.

  30. bigdraws Says:

    No, I do own a tv though. They tend to show that game every year.

  31. jr85reb Says:

    You might of have seen me there then.

  32. bigdraws Says:

    So, you’re saying Om was in Atlanta that year? Wow, the brainwashing that went on in Oxford there woulda made Hitler jealous.

  33. m4rebs Says:

    jr85, are you Todd Blackledge or Vern Lundquest? Even better if you are Jill Arrington. I got my picture with you in the Circle at the 03 LSU-Ole Miss game. You were very nice looking. If not, sorry.

  34. jr85reb Says:

    I was in the circle that year and unfortunatley watched as the feild goal missed and the lsu fans went wild. Only pictures I took that game was one with the goat that had on the Ole Miss sweater. Oh, I also took a picture of the Lyceum as the sun was rising that morning with my phone.

Leave a Reply

