FOOTBALL: The chase for Randle

Looks like an interesting battle for the nation’s top wide receiver prospect, the Randle kid from Bastrop, La. In this column it appears LSU and Alabama are the leaders.

The Tigers have gotten pretty thin at wide receiver, after having some really deep and solid groups.

Wide receiver is not the focus for Ole Miss that some other positions are. The Rebels have most of their own talented group returning, but they will be looking to find a deep threat to replace Mike Wallace.

— PA

35 Responses to “FOOTBALL: The chase for Randle”

  1. 03Rebel Says:

    You would think WR’s would be looking to join an explosive offense with a great QB. I don’t think of either with those two schools. Guess they are looking at crowd size and ESPN time.

  2. djrebel Says:

    Crowd size and ESPN time does turn heads. So does winning in the SEC, and that may be helping the Rebels with Marlon Brown, another big-time WR.

    — PA

  3. rebel2011 Says:

    what do you think of this recruiting class PA? it seems like although there is not a lot of standout talent, there could be a lot of sleepers. this is evidenced by the fact that on ESPN Dele Junaid is the #14 rated safety in the country while on scout he is a 2 star and the 112th safety and is not even ranked on rivals. it seems like there is a lot of gray area and guessing on these rankings. i have always wondered how these recruiting services give these rankings.

  4. m4rebs Says:

    Recruiting ranking is a joke anyway. They should force all of these guys to do a reconciliation on how some of their 5 stars turn out and how some of their No stars turn out every once in a while. Nevertheless, it is difficult to predict talent when it is very dependent upon competition and surrounding talent. I don’t think ANYONE missed Julio Jones though. He was #1 overall last year, and he turned out to be as good as advertised.

  5. Raleighrebel Says:

    M4, I was looking online at Rival’s year-end rankings this year for all positions and coaches, which led me to this link, where they show the rankings in April 2006 for incoming freshmen. Interesting to look at it now. Tebow was ranked #22. Percy Harvin #1…Jevan Snead #61

    http://collegefootball.rivals.com/viewrank.asp?ra_key=1162

  6. david Says:

    I hear Marlon Brown is still in oxford, wouldnt it be awesome to get him? I bet he will get the royal treatment being the only player left.

  7. m4rebs Says:

    I’ve seen that. Pretty good on Harvin, but wouldn’t you argue Tebow is under-rated, now that he is being talked about as the Greatest College Football Player in the history of College Football?

  8. UMREB74 Says:

    Marlon Brown is still in Oxford.He didn’t make it in until Saturday because he had a bball game,and its no secret he wants to stay close to home.

  9. djrebel Says:

    I like the class. I don’t get caught up in recruiting rankings. The better the players, the better your chance to win, but I think there are a lot of “3-star” guys who are real players.

    I think this class does a good job right now of addressing needs, particularly with Hornsby at safety. I am in favor of giving guys a second chance as long as they’re watched closely. It’s the third, fourth and fifth chances that are trouble.

    With the DBs in this class plus what’s already on the roster, I would expect pass defense, which improved over the last handful of games, to be better next year.

    — PA

  10. david Says:

    I read a article on Marcus Berg where he said he was down there and was ready to join and trying to get others to join as well. He told them they can be apart of something super or be on the other side of the sticks and get popped. Talk about forming a bond already. I fiqure Marlon chooses between Ole Miss and Tenn becuase of the distance factor. I think Ole Miss may end up with him but who knows what BS tenn will tell him. But I do know coach O has gotten involved with his coming to tenn and that was one reason Marlon hadnt looked at Ole Miss before. Maybe that helps. PA which of the following would you want i you could select 2, Patterson, Jones, Brown and Scruggs?

  11. thespear Says:

    m4, ppl weren’t sure Tebow could use his arm at the college level, thats why he wasnt rated higher…. i think those questions have been answered though.

  12. Raleighrebel Says:

    I don’t get too caught up in the recruiting rankings, but would have to say that one from 2006 was pretty dang good, when you consider how many people are leaving HS to enter college football. There are several recognizable names in that top 25.

  13. EglinReb Says:

    I don’t think anyone should put stock in recruiting rankings, especially the team rankings, who did best recruiting, etc. Top 2 teams from 4 years ago: Michigan and Tennessee. Both of whom set records for futility this year. It is a lot more complex that who gets the most mythical “5 star” players.

  14. djrebel Says:

    David, I haven’t seen those guys plays and can’t realistically compare them against one another.

    I see the player rankings for Brown and Patterson. I’m sure they’re good.

    I think signing them would have extra benefits because they’re “local” kids who will go home when they have free time and — if they are having a good experience in Oxford — will spread the word. Free recruiting if you will.

    — PA

  15. farley662 Says:

    It’s amazing how you guys don’t care about rankings anymore since your ranking is lower than the last 4 years. That’s all y’all ever talked about when O was here.

  16. UMREB74 Says:

    Gotta be some negativity from farley today!God Bless you Farley!We couldn’t win ballgames for years so we had to talk about rankings good grief!

  17. UMREB74 Says:

    The main reason rankings don’t mean as much now is Nutt can actually coach up these talented 3-stars,whereas O couldn’t coach up 4 stars!Wouldn’t you agree PA.

  18. colreb420 Says:

    PA time for you to type up an article selling ole miss to pat patterson. just like the randle article.

  19. ColoradoReb Says:

    As far as rankings go, I say don’t call him a cowboy til you’ve seen him ride. Ppl said Eli wasn’t as good as Peyton, but he won a championship and has had a better record for the past couple of years. State’s problem in football is they depend on one big time player to carry the whole team. Then when he can’t carry them, they say, “next year we’re gonna be SEC champs cause we’re getting that one QB in central Ms thats a 3 star.” They don’t call this a team sport for nothing. Alot of winning comes from the 7 p’s.

    Proper prior preperation prevents piss poor performance

  20. djrebel Says:

    ColReb, we’ve got recruiting updates running Wednesday in the print edition.

    — PA

  21. farley662 Says:

    I seem to remember OM fans saying the same thing about some guy named Schaeffer Creb. Maybe I’m mistaken though. And Tyler is a 4 star. Legitimate 4 star. The class that Croom built and Mullen closed out has the potential to be something very special.

  22. m4rebs Says:

    I did notice that Rivals released their Mississippi top 30 and MSU has 6 out of the top 10. That is saying something, especially in the midst of a coaching change. Ole Miss only has 2. The only thing is, no one can argue on recruiting items because they aren’t going to be playing this weekend, and by the time they produce (or not) it is months or years away. Only time will tell.

  23. rebelfan38652 Says:

    Wasn’t Schaeffer a 5-star. HA!! After living through that I have to agree with PA, not to put much stock into rankings. If you have had a crappy season then all you have is hope. Hope in a 4-star qb.

  24. ColoradoReb Says:

    I think its great to recruit top talent Farley, but you must be able to coach them as well. I think a top notch coach knows how to build his team around the ability of his players. O was a great recruiter and I personally thought we might ought to give him one more year. I’m glad for this year and next years sake we didn’t give him any more time. Nutt and the Alum at Ark. never really saw eye to eye on his recruiting among other things. I don’t think he was recruiting the McFadden and Jones caliber players toward the end. I don’t know if its that he’s not that great at it or he didn’t care anymore. I do know he’s a proven winner. Mullen is the same as O, he must prove himself as a winner before I give him much credit. I also think Byrne did a great job of getting on the phone with alot of these players before they jumped ship.

  25. ColoradoReb Says:

    My State buddy told me Sat. that he didn’t what a bunch of star players because they are the ones with big egos and they end up in trouble with the law or they don’t qualify to get into school.

  26. ColoradoReb Says:

    want not what (sorry)

  27. JB Says:

    All the stars in the Universe can be pinned on the chest of those outstanding recruits, but how many of those stars will they still have after/when they reach and perform at next level of football in college ranks?

  28. JB Says:

    “JB
    You are one bitter old bastard.
    Wed, 03 Sep 2008 23:38:22 GMT”.

    Thanks Farley for getting this one correct!! Just read it above. Wishing you a great day. Also, Tomorrow (20 Jan 07), I will include rmember the new president in my prayers under the direction of Romans 13:1

  29. ColoradoReb Says:

    Go Boraco! Save us from Bin Laden. LOL

  30. JB Says:

    GO REBELS! GO REBELS!! GO REBELS!!!

  31. farley662 Says:

    You know I got love for ya JB. You are part of my prayers at the end of each night.

    Hopefully Obama will be able to unite everyone for a common goal. I voted for him because I felt like his direction would be better for my family. Having a special needs child it’s always better to have a Democrat in office. More funding for programs that help people in my situation. I don’t agree 100% with everything he says, but the things that mattered to me for Aedan were much more in line than was McCain. Too many people have persecuted the man before he’s even taken the oath. If you like him or not, he is our Commander in chief for at least 4 years and should be respected even if you don’t see eye to eye with him.

  32. bigdraws Says:

    I wouldn’t worry about Obama. Unless I was planning on being a fetus in the next 4 years then I might be a little worried.

  33. UMREB74 Says:

    It’s official OBAMA IS RATED 5-STARS BY RIVALS AND SCOUT!

  34. ColoradoReb Says:

    Farley, I almost, no I don’t think I ever agree with you, but for this one we are on the same page. I like his call to service and I think he’s telling black americans to stop making excuses and get to work. My oldest boy has some special needs and currently it costs us $30 a day for his after school tutoring. The teacher said when Clinton was in office it was covered by the govt. I think Rocko will be good in a lot of ways.

  35. 03Rebel Says:

    Draws: i don’t think you have to worry about that one either. Things should stay the same as they’ve been for the past 30+ years.

Leave a Reply

