FOOTBALL: Chasing Cotton

If Ole Miss needs addition help to lure Fort Meade, MD quarterback Raymond Cotton into the fold the Rebels may have gotten it Wednesday with Nick Saban’s hiring of Auburn assistant coach James Willis to Alabama.

The Anniston Star reported this morning that Cotton is no longer on Auburn’s radar.

— PA

19 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Chasing Cotton”

  1. cousinwalter Says:

    What exactly is Auburn’s situation with this kid. I know as result of the hiring of Gene Chizik, his father said that Raymond Jr was no longer interested in Auburn but with the hiring of spread expert Gus Malzahn, you would think he would still be interested. Ole Miss clearly looks like the better option if I am him, but you can never tell with these kids.

  2. djrebel Says:

    Apparently there’s some depth to the Willis-Cotton relationship. Cotton was already looking strongly at Ole Miss any way. I’m hearing that Auburn is focusing more on a QB from Texas.

    — PA

  3. cousinwalter Says:

    He would be a nice replacement for whenever Jevean Snead decides to leave or graduates.

  4. djrebel Says:

    Snead’s replacement may already be in house. Nathan Stanley looked really good this season. Cotton would create a good competitive environment.

    — PA

  5. L2 Says:

    PA
    Just out of curiosity – what is Stanleys mobility look like from what you have seen? Would Cotton add another dimension with his mobility? Even though I have heard he is not the fleetest of foot??
    Again – that is just things I have heard, not from things I know.

  6. djrebel Says:

    Stanley looks like he’s mobile enough to avoid pressure, but he’s not a runner. Cotton would bring more mobility and could be a special situation guy behind Snead.

    — PA

  7. colreb420 Says:

    FYI scout.com is reporting that it is down to kstate usm and ole miss for mr cotton.

  8. djrebel Says:

    Hard to imagine Ole Miss not being the frontrunner there, but this is recruiting, and you never know.

    — PA

  9. ColoradoReb Says:

    I’m pretty sure he’ll come to OM because of his MS connections. I think if anybody could sway him it might be usm but who wants to play in conference usa when you have a chance to play in the SEC. I know Nutt wants to be able to run the wild rebel and cotton would fit perfectly in that scheme.

  10. ColoradoReb Says:

    He PA, have u had a chance to check on Reuben Randle’s status? I know he and Nutt have been talking but I don’t know what has happened since.

  11. RoastBeef1 Says:

    Everyone seems like a fit for the wild rebel now. I know Cotton is mobile, but we’d have to wait and see. I’m 99% sure he’ll be in Oxford next year though. Judging by his interests, he’s an SEC guy. I don’t see him landing at the two schools PA mentioned.

    CR, the chances for Randle are very very low from what I understand. He wants to go to Bama, his dad wants him at LSU from what I hear. Nutt is also going for Patterson and Brown a lot harder than Randle.

  12. djrebel Says:

    I’m hearing it’s an LSU-Bama bout for Randle.

    I think there is more focus on Patterson and Brown. Getting both of them would be great, but they need to get at least one.

    — PA

  13. JakeFuryReb Says:

    Personally, I don’t see Jevan being the kind of guy that would get caught up in the NFL Draft talk, especially in his junior year. He fought hard to get the starting job, so I’d think he’d want to play more than 2 years. He has the ability to be better than Eli his senior year.

    On the same note, if I was a highly ranked high school quarterback such as Cotton, I’d choose a school were I know that I would get ample amount of playing time and not be the third string back-burner.

  14. ColoradoReb Says:

    Nutt likes having mutiple QB’s with different talents so the offense can be ever changing. Randle is at least giving OM a look. He would be a perfect fit at OM as someone said yesterday. I think you’ll see more than one QB running the offense in the coming years. Just imagine if Dexter was a Raymond Cotton some of those option passes would have been huge. I know everybody we are getting doesn’t have a bunch of stars by their name but I like the way this class is shaping up. We just need a couple of recievers to bring it all full circle.

  15. colreb420 Says:

    i look for ole miss to close with patterson and scruggs at wr. hopefully get grandy at cb, add the next 2 lbs that want to commit, r cotton, and hopefully bobbie massie. hey one can dream cant he.

  16. Charles Says:

    Hey, nothing wrong with having dreams, but we’re going to be having nightmares if Massie goes to BAMA. We’ll probably have a clearer picture of where we stand after his weekend visit to BAMA.

  17. L2 Says:

    After talking with a buddy of mine today – he & I think right now would be a good time to join together and pray! 🙂

  18. ColoradoReb Says:

    L2 I’m for praying anytime. I try to keep myself in what I call a constant state of prayer. It keeps me grounded and it helps me thru the hard stuff in life. I try not to ask the big guy for material things but strength to handle to curves life throws at us. I’m not a member of any organized relegion but I know my savior just the same. So count me in if we’re taking something to the good Lord. Thank you for being man enough to say its alright to get on our knees and pray. Real men love Jesus!

  19. L2 Says:

    CR
    You got that right. I am a pastor – so praying over my lifetime has had to be second nature! W/out it I don’t know where I’d be – well, really, I do. Most of the guys I know on here feel the same way. And that is great to know! Being able to communicate with the creator of the universe is a pretty cool thing I think!!
    Enough preaching from me – let’s keep hoping that we can close the deal with these guys.

Leave a Reply

