FOOTBALL: Hardy has surgery

Ole Miss defensive end Greg Hardy will miss spring drills, the school announced today, after what is being called a successful foot surgery. Hardy had surgery in August to repair a stress fracture but never fully recovered. He is expected to be ready to begin practice in August.

Here’s the news release.

— PA

OXFORD – Ole Miss defensive end Greg Hardy underwent successful surgery on his right foot Wednesday and will miss the Rebels’ spring drills.

The procedure was performed by Dr. Bob Anderson, an NFL consultant, in Charlotte, N.C. Rehab will begin immediately, and Hardy is expected to return to the practice field when the team reports in August for 2009 preseason workouts.

“The doctors did an excellent job of identifying the best way to get Greg’s foot back to full strength, and we’re encouraged with the outcome of the surgery,” said Ole Miss head coach Houston Nutt. “I know it’s been frustrating to Greg, but he handled it well. It’s now time to get back in school, do his rehab and then get ready for his senior season.”

A two-time All-America honoree, Hardy has ranked among the SEC leaders in sacks each of the last two seasons, notching 10.0 in 2007 and 8.5 this fall, despite playing in only nine of the 13 contests. The Millington, Tenn., native enters his senior season with 32.5 career TFLs and seven forced fumbles.

34 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Hardy has surgery”

  1. Charles Says:

    Good to have that over with. I would think he has more than plenty of time to rehab and prepare for next year. Do you know how much he’ll be able to work out while rehabbing?

  2. L2 Says:

    Attention SEC:
    ‘Jaws’ of the famous landshark fame – will b back and 100% this August!

  3. ColoradoReb Says:

    LOL L2

  4. VA Reb Says:

    Glad he’s getting it taken care of. Nothing is more aggravating than a nagging foot or ankle problem. Adrenalin only takes you so far. He should really be a presence to be reckoned with when he returns.

  5. JB Says:

    I sure hope Greg recovers quickly and get back to the playing field. Rumors floating around that Pres Obama might consider college sports co-ed next season so creating a competitive field.

  6. JB Says:

    My Avatar is an Ole Miss football player some years back. Probable in 1960-70’s or I don’t know. One of Johnny Vaught’s players, I assume, but not sure My mother worked at the cafeteria Aluminihouse(Mr. Hill was her boss) for years and she save this pic from the Oxford Eagle, Why I don’t know. Who is this Rebels player? There is no date on any part of the news paper. Any help out there? I was overseas with the USAF during that time and news of Ole Miss Sports was limited.

  7. Jeff Jolly Says:

    He’s from the 60’s JB. I remember the face….can’t put a name on it. I will try to look at some of my old programs and try to find out and get back with you. It may take a few days. I’m going out of town this weekend.

  8. ColoradoReb Says:

    JB, I sent it to my Dad but he says it was well after his time so no help there. Daddy said he’d print it and take it over with him tomorrow to the Alumni offices. I’ll let you know if we come up with anything.

  9. Jeff Jolly Says:

    Who is your Dad ColoradoReb?

  10. JB Says:

    Thanks, Guys. That uniform looks like one Archie is wearing in one of his pic. When my mom and dad celebrated their 50 wedding anniversary there was a Reb rb there, a hunting friend of my uncle. He was a running back on Archie’s team. But, I can’t remember his name.

  11. JB Says:

    If you don’t mind me asking, ColoradoReb, when was your dad at Ole Miss. I respect you not saying. I tried to make all the Ole Miss home games 1950 thru 1953. After then, I was away in the USAF until the 1962 Egg bowl of which I attended.

  12. david Says:

    PA, i keep hearing a new rumor up here in KC, Kansas vs OM thursday in sept in dallas. 6 million per team,,,know anything about this?

  13. m4rebs Says:

    JB, my deceased grandfather played center at Ole Miss, I believe it was the 1950 team. His name was A.C. (Ace) Hinton. He eventually went into the Navy and traveled the world but settled in Pensacola at the N.A.S. Know of him?

  14. Josh Says:

    Decatur Alabama Police have released a statement saying former Ole Miss receive Taye Biddle was shot. Doesn’t sound like the injuries are life-threatening and not many details have been released at this point.

  15. Josh Says:

    Obviously this happened Sunday night which means it may have been discussed in an earlier post and I missed it. Google returns some articles on the incident. Here’s one:

    http://nfl.fanhouse.com/2009/01/22/taye-biddle-giants-wr-who-replaced-plaxico-burress-on-roster-g/

  16. ColoradoReb Says:

    JB, he was there in 1954-55 I believe. I guess that was right after the glory days. I know it was after but I still think of the era as our championship days. He had to leave and go back home and run the family business because my grandfather had been shot by a customer who owed a debt to the store. Daddy wasn’t an all star or anything like that but he’ll always be a hero to us because he walked on that field as an Ole Miss Rebel. No one else in my family has done that before or after. I don’t want to say much more cause some of these folks on here don’t seem to favor my opinion (farley).

  17. ColoradoReb Says:

    Guys I just finished wathing the movie “The Express”. Its the Ernie Davis story and I don’t think I’ve ever been inspired more by a movie. If you haven’t seen it be sure to rent it. I think it was good for my boys to watch it so they have a good understanding of how things were and how far we have all come as a nation.

  18. djrebel Says:

    David, Pete Boone told me there have been discussions for that game but that it won’t happen this year.

    — PA

  19. bigdraws Says:

    Did I miss something? Tay Biddle (sp) got shot?

  20. david Says:

    PA, Living in KC you can just imagine how I would love for them to play KU, they think they are better than everyone, even better than OU, Texas and Tech. I would just love the opportunity for them to see what true southern football is like.

  21. bigdraws Says:

    Lots of Nebraska fans in KC too. David, what’s the local vibe about the Chiefs new GM? The fans wanting a new coach? Personally I think it’s not Herm’s fault but what do I know.

  22. 03Rebel Says:

    Different topic: Just read the story on Jerry raising his stock this week, and I’m curious about Oher’s new stock status. Last year, he was estimated to be a solid 1st rounder, but he chose to stay and improve. Last year’s #1 pick was an OT. He’s been labeled a future NFL stud since he was a HS recruit.

    This year he’s been called the top OT (rivals and the Atlanta award), swapping places every week with Bama’s Jr. But, the last projected draft I saw had him as the 6th or 7th OT.

    Has the Senior Bowl hurt his outlook?

  23. JB Says:

    M4, the Hinton name sound familiar, but I can’t put a time period on it.
    ColoradoReb, I believe 1950 onward was the time that Ole Miss started building and making the climb to the top of the national ladder. Back when Jimmy Lear was the QB. James Mask of Oxford, one of the ends.

    I think senior bowl play helps potentials get a good boost in the eyes of Pro Scouts. The Rebs should have several players at the next level next pro season. Hope the NO Saints get a few and get back on top of things.

  24. bigdraws Says:

    Last I saw he was about a 30 pick 03.

  25. farley662 Says:

    I saw on ESPN where they have Peria higher than him. Still, two first round picks with any team from MS is impressive. Here is the first round mock draft by Mel Kiper.

    http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/melkiper/index

  26. farley662 Says:

    That was the board, sorry. You have to have an account to see the mock draft.

  27. david Says:

    well the are in love with the new GM , but how can you not be peterson be gone… As for Herm, rumor has it he is so well liked he will jsut another job within the Chiefs as head scout man. I like him. Rumor has its down to Haley from Ariz and Shannon from Denver. I am for Shannon with limited power. Just something about being able to know your rivals and know the division plus Haley may be a flavor of the month coach. I am hoping the chiefs draft Oher, i know they are very high on him, they are also shunning away from Andre Smith becuase of the whole Alabama qb here.

  28. bigdraws Says:

    Oher would be good. I know we can’t get a qb. I guess we’ll have to live with Thig. The defensive line should be a little better. Just hope our sophmore from cajun land can stay healthy.

  29. JB Says:

    Ole Miss offensive linemen don’t do too good in the pro’s. Some of their highly rated All-Americans did not cut the mustard very long. Last one’s with “what it takes” was Wesley Walls and Mangum. I know that they were ends, but very good blockers on certain situations. I don’t know if Oher has what it takes to play at the next level. I will not be like playing Miss State, LSU, Florida reptiles, Bama, and the rest.

  30. david Says:

    Look around the league there are plenty of ole miss OL around… I dont know Thig looks good at times…They have a lot fo holes… Mel Kiper projected them to pick sanchez from USC…You ask me thats a accident waitng to happen with his knee, kinda like Brodie…

  31. rebnutt Says:

    PA,
    That Charlotte surgeon who worked on Hardy this week is the one who operated on Oregan’s Jonathan Stewart’s foot last spring prior to the NFL draft. He’s the foot guy for several NFL teams, including the Panthers, who used their 1st pick on Stewart about a month later. Lots of confidence in that doctor’s abilities.

  32. ColoradoReb Says:

    JB don’t forget Todd Wade. He is still around I think.

  33. JB Says:

    Where is Todd? Wade had some good years with the Dauphins, but then traded. Last account that I had of him he was with Houston, but he’s not the roster. Chris Spences, Metcalf, and Vincent, where are the others? Maybe one with the Bengels. When I have more time I will review the entire NFL rosters. Thanks all for the info.

  34. ColoradoReb Says:

    I thought Todd was at Carolina but I’m not sure of that.

Leave a Reply

