HOOPS: That Humphrey feeling

It hasn’t been good for Ole Miss, regardless of circumstances, at Mississippi State’s Humphrey Coliseum of late.

The Rebels have beaten the Bulldogs in the last three Oxford games but haven’t won in Starkville in 11 years, their last victory an 82-78 decision in 1998. The Rebels have lost 10 straight and are 1-14 in their last 15 games at MSU. They get another chance Saturday in a noon tip.

It’s been four years since the Rebels have played the Bulldogs to a single-digit margin of defeat. Ole Miss lost 71-68 in 2005. In 2004 the Rebels lost by 24 points. From 2006-2008 they lost by 29, 10 and 20.

It’s a thin Ole Miss team that visits Humphrey this week, but it’s one which has had a higher energy level since a humbling home loss to LSU on Jan. 17. It’s also one that had an impressive upset win at home against Kentucky Tuesday night.

The road, of course, is a different place.

This could be a situation where youth works in the favor of Ole Miss. Most of the Rebels’ key players have no point of reference for past struggles at State. Junior guard David Huertas will be the only Ole Miss player who will see significant playing time who has been to Humphrey Coliseum with the Rebels more than once.

— PA

28 Responses to “HOOPS: That Humphrey feeling”

  1. cr Says:

    Why is Stansbury rarely rumored for openings elsewhere?

  2. darkcooger Says:

    I suspect the Rebels will put up a good fight this weekend. Like I said in the other post, that win over Kentucky was well-deserved. I go into each game nervous because of State’s offensive rebounding problems, and this one will definitely be no exception. Ole Miss is coming off a great win and State’s coming off a squeaker win against a mediocre opponent.

    Hope it’s a good one! I just don’t see it being a 10+ point game this time around.

  3. bigdraws Says:

    All of state’s sec wins have been against sub par opponents. The 4 teams they’ve defeated have combined for 3 wins. This will be a good test for the dawgs to see where they are right now.

  4. JB Says:

    “That Humphrey feeling”. Whatever that Humphrey feeling is , I don’t have the faintest idea. What idea I do have is that the Rebels are going off down there into Oktibbeha county and play some unknown basketball team and return to Oxford a loser. GO REBS!!!

  5. bigdraws Says:

    I believe the last msu win in oxford was a costly one. Winsome Frazier injured his ankle blocking a shot. Made it to the big dance but got a low seed. Met Duke in the second round, fought hard but lost.

  6. ripleyreb Says:

    The Hump is a tough, tough place for opposing teams to try to get a win, especially when the Rebs go there. I’ve been to several of those rivalry games at the Hump and didn’t leave too happy very many times over the years. Win or lose, it is always very entertaining. I even saw Bully ejected once by a Ref before the game started. Hope the Rebs can keep it close. Go Rebs.

  7. JB Says:

    Don’t understand that one Draws, remember I be old farm boy from Tula, we worked in cotton/corn fields for survival no school and get un dem educations.

  8. JB Says:

    ripley you go to game. Look for you at KY game

  9. ripleyreb Says:

    JB, I made it to the game. It was a great game I was very proud of the Rebels effort. I waved at you a couple of times, should have made a sign. I did have my red on though. Next time we make a trip down to Destin, maybe we could get together for a meal, then you will know my ugly face at another game. Haven’t missed many games at the Tad Pad the last 30 years.

  10. JB Says:

    It will be a pleasure, Ripley.

  11. JB Says:

    Farley, if you are out there, I must apologize to you about last evening thinking that it was you in that U-Haul truck running from the law on Fox News. Just in tonight, it was a woman and they nabbed that driver. Thanks goodness it was not you.

  12. m4rebs Says:

    JB, you were critical of Draws and I the other day about “Gossiping” about Mark G over here at Alabama. Well, a video of he and this 24-year old young lady serviced on the internet earlier this week at Ol’ Colony Golf Club. It was reported by the Golf Pro that Mark had to call the Pro back out to the course to unlock the gate, to allow he and the young lady to get their cars out of the Gold Club parking lot. Someone has promptly removed this video from the internet, but many of Mark’s friends have attempted to call him, to no avail. The young lady lives in an apartment complex near the Black Warrior River in Tuscaloosa. Am I still gossiping, or are those enough FACTS for you?

  13. m4rebs Says:

    surfaced, not serviced; although it may have been a video of servicing, we’ll leave to the imagination.

  14. JakeFuryReb Says:

    So I was reading on ESPN that MSU is trying to get Patrick Patterson, but they’re a long shot away. Also, they hope to get Jamal Reid which is visiting OM this weekend. I hope we can grab both of them!

  15. bigdraws Says:

    Watch out matt!! JB will post some scripture about vulgar language and such next.

    Ripley, I believe I attended a few of those games with your son too. When he wasn’t manning the floor under the goal.

  16. ripleyreb Says:

    Good memory there Bigdraws.

  17. redstickrebel Says:

    Okay lets here it. Are there any downers out there? Can Rebs beat State at the Hump? It’s been 11 years unbelievable. I went to the LSU-STATE game and maybe LSU is that good to beat both of us by a huge margin. Lets go Rebs. I will not predict but pull for the Rebs. What this would do for this team. Let’s go Rebs.

  18. redstickrebel Says:

    My bad on the spelling lets hear it.

  19. oxfordrebel Says:

    Off subject here, but just got ahold of a developing story.

    Please, don’t quote me on this, but from white I’ve been able to piece together, Boone has messed us over again. Bo Tillman has expressed his intention to play for us and is a player that will give us immediate depth on the DL. A very important recruit, right? Well, Boone doesn’t think so. Boone has been denying any progress on getting Tillman into school, and yesterday, UT expressed their interest for Tillman, and if Boone and Co. don’t get him admitted by Friday at noon, he’s going to UT. I don’t know if Coach O had anything to do with this for sure, but rumor is that he did meet with Tillman and family.

    HDN has been on Boone for over a week now to get the papers finalized, and it’s came down to this b/c Boone apparently has other bigger fish to fry in his mind. It’s been said that HDN and Boone have already clashed over this, so this will not bode well with HDN if Tillman is not enrolled.

    In short, PB sucks again, he needs to LEAVE with Kayat!

    PS: All of this is just late-breaking stuff in the past couple of hours, maybe things will be more clear in the morning.

  20. oxfordrebel Says:

    Off subject here, but just got ahold of a developing story.

    Please, don’t quote me on this, but from white I’ve been able to piece together, Boone has messed us over again. Bo Tillman has expressed his intention to play for us and is a player that will give us immediate depth on the DL. A very important recruit, right? Well, Boone doesn’t think so. Boone has been denying any progress on getting Tillman into school, and yesterday, UT expressed their interest for Tillman, and if Boone and Co. don’t get him admitted by Friday at noon, he’s going to UT. I don’t know if Coach O had anything to do with this for sure, but rumor is that he did meet with Tillman and family.

    HDN has been on Boone for over a week now to get the papers finalized, and it’s came down to this b/c Boone apparently has other bigger fish to fry in his mind. It’s been said that HDN and Boone have already clashed over this, so this will not bode well with HDN if Tillman is not enrolled.

    In short, PB sucks again, he needs to LEAVE with Kayat!

    PS: All of this is just late-breaking stuff in the past couple of hours, maybe things will be more clear in the morning.

  21. ColoradoReb Says:

    The Rebs ought to be use to a hostile environment after they played in New Mexico. I don’t think there is a more hostile environment in college basketball than UNM. I really believe that. If OM would have won they would have had to shoot their way out of town. These guys are sick and tired of being played like a well tuned guitar. I think they’ll give it their all and all this experience will surely benefit them in coming years. I’m joining with JB and I’m back on the wagon. Lets roll Rebs!
    M4 wasn’t trying to mess your pool. I just didn’t like your comment.

    Oxford I agree PB must go. We would be much better off with a new AD. We could have gotten other folks in sooner if PB new how to handle business. I think they’ll stand him up stiff when he quits breathing as long as he can draw his salary. Nobody would know the difference.

  22. ColoradoReb Says:

    “knew” not “new”

  23. rebelfan38652 Says:

    Maybe the new chancellor will bring in a new AD.

  24. m4rebs Says:

    Colorado, I saw where UNM got hammered at home the other night by a conference opponent. Not sure what is going on down in Albequerce, but they seem to have lost some of the steam they had earlier in the year. I’m sure they’ve had their chances to show their class in “The Pit.”

  25. ColoradoReb Says:

    UNM beat Colorado State on Wed. and that was their last game I think. They are like 11-6 on the year but I think they have only lost one at home. They started slow as they had a young team but no one is beating them like a drum.

  26. m4rebs Says:

    They got beat at home by CUSA’s very own UTEP, 73-60. At that rat-hole, that is getting beat like a drum.

  27. ColoradoReb Says:

    m4 it was a lot closer than that I think until right at the end. UTEP is not a bad team either. UNM is the Mountain West leader right now. I can say with certainty that the “PIT” is the most hostile environment I’ve ever experienced because I was there. If I hadn’t had my wife and kids with me, someone out there would have had a Col. Reb plastered on their forehead if you know what I mean. I’m just saying the experience they (bb team) got out there should help them in a hostile environment like State. I think OM will win Saturday because when you’ve had enough you’ve had enough and when you aint got nothin to lose you might as well let it all hang out.

  28. ColoradoReb Says:

    Is the game on TV? I don’t get schedules out here and I noticed PA hadn’t posted anything about it.

Leave a Reply

