HOOPS: Kennedy quotes

Ole Miss coach Andy Kennedy following the Rebels’ 71-58 loss to Kentucky in the SEC tournament.

“Typically, if you look at our team, if we can come out with the right approach to start the second half, we can be in it till the end. I thought we had a couple of key mistakes early which allowed Kentucky to stretch. We could never get the game back to where we were putting real pressure on their shots.” …

“We had a couple of breakdowns in transition against the press allowing Meeks to go for an and one. We leave him in the zone, and when you leave him in the zone, he’s going to make you pay.” …

“I told our guys in the locker room that I’m really proud of them, honestly, with what they’ve had to go through. They’ve continued to fight. No one likes to lose, and it’s been a hard year from the standpoint of each and every night know you have to play the maximum just to give yourself a chance. But I’m really proud of these guys. I think many of them grew up throughout the course of the season, and that will bode well for the future of our program.” …

“I didn’t see David visibly imping nearly as bad as he has in the prior two games. He told me he could go. We went with him. We tried to get him involved in the offense. He wanted to play. He realized it was win or go home. I thought he gave great effort. Again, shooting is such that without those game reps I think sometimes you can get out of rhythm. Basketball is a game of rhythm and flow. I think he lost a little of that at the end of the season.”

— PA

4 Responses to “HOOPS: Kennedy quotes”

  1. JakeFuryReb Says:

    Trevor Gaskins said on his Facebook status that the season is over. Don’t know what he knows, but it was a better season that hoped for considering the circumstances.

  2. djrebel Says:

    I don’t think Trevor knows anything officially. Kennedy said going in he thought the Rebels needed to win, and I agree, but I imagine for now Gaskins is repeating an opinion expressed by his coach.

    — PA

  3. m4rebs Says:

    I’m proud of the way the guys competed, throughout the season, however, I’m glad it is over. It was at times, like sitting around, waiting for a terminally ill patient to pass away. 7 wins with the wounded players, was an exceptional job by all. It’s time to start thinking about next season here, especially how all the parts fit with the 3 healthy guys returning, the new recruits, and the guys that were forced into big time minutes this year. It should be exciting in 09-10 for sure.

  4. djrebel Says:

    I agree Matt. I don’t think it’s a bad thing for the season to be over. I think you have to take an NIT bid if one is extended, but it’s going to be hard for this team to score consistently with Huertas running at 40 percent. Good job to get this far under the circumstances, but you can’t count on 16 points and seven assists from Bogan. Arkansas was a big win, but it was lightning in a bottle. Good thing they got it. Without they’d have lost five straight right now.

    — PA

Leave a Reply

