FOOTBALL: Schedule Update

I spoke with an administration official last night. They’re getting really mum on the 12th football game for next season. No light at all shed on who the opponent might be. It will be an FCS team (Formerly I-AA. Don’t see the need for change. I-AA worked fine for years). There is the possibility an announcement will come next week. I was told it will be a school that I’ve heard of and not one that will send me to Google to learn its name, location, etc.

— PA

18 Responses to “FOOTBALL: Schedule Update”

  1. JG Says:

    There is a lot of buzz going around about Colorado. Apparently Miami (OH) dropped off there schedule to play Kentucky. Colorado now has an open date of Sept. 12th. Their game was scheduled as an away game, so maybe going to Oxford, MS instead of Oxford, OH is not a bad option. I would love to see an SEC BIG 12 game early in the season.

  2. mobilereb Says:

    Seems that I’ve heard end of the week or next week for several weeks. 🙂 I’m just ready to get the scheduled finished. BTW – I would love to play Colorado. I lived in Denver for several years and wouldn’t mind an excuse to visit Boulder.

  3. david Says:

    I would lvoe a home and home with col. I live in KC so that drive isnt to bad. About 6 hrs.

  4. david Says:

    However, i am sure Boone will blow this one too. I say if we end up playing a 1-aa team, then people should start calling for his head. Just my thoughts.

  5. imarebel Says:

    I am ready for his head anyway!

  6. BREB Says:

    I heard that the last game has been scheduled and it is Gardner Webb.

  7. imabulldog Says:

    Thats what ”he” said.

    Thanks beef

  8. m4rebs Says:

    I’ve heard Gardner Webb also. That is terrible. The Colorado deal has essentially been given to them with a bow wrapped around it, and they aren’t going to pursue that? What in the world is going on? That just doesn’t make any sense at all to play 2 1-AA teams back to back. We are setting ourselves up for a catastrophy of epic proportions. Am I being irrational on this issue too?

  9. m4rebs Says:

    PA, was Colorado even brought up? Is it a 1-AA school for 100%?

  10. Charles Says:

    I agree that it would be a shame not to schedule Colorodo after having it fall in our lap like this. I don’t think playing two I-AA teams would be terrible though. It seems that if a team wins the SEC championship with only one loss, and a bad OOC schedule, then they will still have a good chance play in the NC game based on the SEC’s recent dominance. That certainly isn’t gaurunteed though. I’d just like to see the schedule finished one way or the other at this point.

    Plus, Coloroda sounds like they’re going to have a down year next year. They’re replacing three on the Oline and are going to be a young team it looks like. They’re a team with good national exposure, and this has potential to be a nationally televised game, which helps with BCS voters, assuming we play well.

  11. Charles Says:

    Wow, I spelled Colorado wrong both times in my previous post.

  12. Charles Says:

    CU game isn’t looking good…

    http://myespn.go.com/blogs/sec/0-5-198/Colorado-not-a-likely-foe-for-Ole-Miss.html

  13. m4rebs Says:

    I am a 2009 season ticket holder, I DO NOT want two consecutive IAA schools on the schedule back to back. I should just make a donation to the university and recieve $100 tangible gift refund so I can at least deduct it from my tax return next year. That is a joke. It’s not just SOS from the team’s perspective, it’s also about the quality of the Product you put on the field, and that doesn’t mean just the team wearing the home color.

  14. m4rebs Says:

    Thanks for the link Charles. What a freakin brilliant deal. We may want to sit tight a few more weeks. This thing may end up sending someone decent to Oxford after all. Sometimes, it’s like watching a monkey and a football getting intiment.

  15. m4rebs Says:

    PA – are you ignorning my posts? I was hoping, since you were rubbing elbows with all the UM Admin this week, would put in a a word from the pulse of the “people” and let them know, we AIN’T COMING if they schedule Gardner Webster or Punky Brewster. WE WANT A WINNER, NOT A LOSER!!!!

  16. cactelo Says:

    a new rumor floating around is that Colorado will now schedule Toledo on Sept. 12, and Toledo will remove Boise State from thier schedule. We need to jump on this. Boise State would be a huge boost to our SOC.

  17. djrebel Says:

    Yo Matt. Not ignoring your posts, bro. Unfortunately, I’ve spent more time away from the blog than I would prefer.

    The wireless situation here has really been substandard, though they have at least tried to make it better.

    Any time a wireless situation isn’t good I’m among the first people to know because of the age of my laptop, meaning when it’s bad for everybody it’s usually worse for me.

    Combine that with the fact that I was helping Brad with State yesterday, and I just didn’t have anything new on Ole Miss to contribute.

    As far as the schedule, no specific school’s name was mentioned in my discussion. Getting a 12th game has become such a problem that the administration really has become tight-lipped about the process.

    My gut feeling is the administration would not be opposed to a name opponent if everything fell into place that way. As the process gets later and later I think there’s less chance that will happen.

    I would imagine the Rebels are headed to a 12th game against a I-AA team.

    That being said, maybe they could have a “turn back the clock” day to 2007 and offer $5 tickets like they did when trying to entice people to attend the Northwestern State game.

    If they schedule a game you’re not going to I might hit you up for your tickets. We’ll see what the family is doing that day.

    — PA

  18. m4rebs Says:

    You know you are first on the list PA. I just think things are still so dynamic this late into the schedule setting game, we may end up better off than we all think. It may make sense to NOT schedule a IAA school and see where all the pieces fall out in the Miami (OH) deal. Like many mention, it could free up SEVERAL teams that are more appealing (in all regards) than Gardner Webb. I just wanted to make sure you didn’t hear that the IAA school thing was a 100% done deal. I wasn’t trying to bust on you about not answering PA. I had asked about the Colorado thing on Wednesday night b/c I knew you would be exposed to UMA folks the next day, and figuring we would lose, it wouldn’t be surprising if they didn’t want to talk about something other than a disappointing basketball sesaon finale.

Leave a Reply

