BASEBALL: Bittle’s turn

Ole Miss coach Mike Bianco toyed with the idea of making Scott Bittle a starter from the get-go. He was more comfortable with Bittle in the pen, but now it looks like he has no choice.

Bianco named Bittle this weekend’s Sunday starter at LSU following the Rebels 19-6 loss yesterday.

The Rebels are at home against St. Louis Tuesday and at Southern Miss Wednesday.

— PA

8 Responses to “BASEBALL: Bittle’s turn”

  1. rebel2011 Says:

    PA, what do you think about the decision to start bittle? Certainly can’t hurt. Also, what do you think about this team after seeing an SEC series?

  2. VA Reb Says:

    Looking forward to seeing what Scott can do. I think he will do fine.

  3. djrebel Says:

    2011, I thought the team at No. 12 might be a little overrated before the Alabama series. Now I’m thinking 12-15 could be a good fit if they continue to get the starting pitching they’re getting from Pomeranz and Irwin.

    I like the decision to start Bittle. Bittle was so dominant last year that it’s going to be hard for him to duplicate that level of success. Part of his success last year had to do with batters chasing his out pitch which drops at the plate. Alabama wasn’t chasing it Friday night, and that may be the scouting report that’s getting around.

    What Ole Miss needs right now is a Sunday guy who can get the game to the middle innings with some degree of control. I believe there are enough arms in the bullpen to get it the rest of the way, I though Goforth pitched well yesterday, although it’s a much different scene when it’s 19-0.

    I think Bittle will be a competitive Sunday starter, and Jake Morgan’s development makes the move easier.

    This team will be better if one of the juco guys, Aaron Barrett or Chris Corrigan, starts to come along.

    It’s also a different team on offense, because home runs are going to be rare.

    — PA

  4. rebel2011 Says:

    I agree. I think that the team as a whole does not have much power but I think they strike out much less, get on base more and are more productive in scoring runners on base than last season. Also, do you know who the starters will be tuesday and wednesday?

  5. jrreb Says:

    looks like goforth is coming along pretty good. what ya’ll think?

  6. djrebel Says:

    2011, Mike didn’t know who he was going to start mid-week late yesterday, and I haven’t talked to him today. I think you’re right that this team appears more efficient.

    Jrreb, I liked what I saw from Goforth yesterday. I know it’s a different game mentally when the team you’re facing is up 19-0, and yes, there were some subs sprinkled in, but 3 2-3 scoreless when you’d been pounded like Ole Miss had to that point is pretty solid. He stopped the bleeding. Hopefully he’ll become a factor on the weekends.

    — PA

  7. rebel2011 Says:

    I would like to see Wade Broyles get a start in a game like tomorrow night. He is a guy that I know from church when I was in high school and in the few outings he has had in his career he has pitched well.

  8. m4rebs Says:

    I think the walks will come in the first and second, instead of the eighth and nineth. Only big difference that we’ll see from last Friday night, to next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

